Tony Kanaan wins Indy 500

2013-05-27 09:46
Tony Kanaan (AFP)

See pics of Novak Djokovic and F1 stars playing in a celebrity football match.

Indianapolis - Brazil's Tony Kanaan, frustrated after leading eight Indianapolis 500s without a victory, finally won the oval classic on Sunday with tension-packed restart pass with three laps remaining.

Kanaan overtook US leader Ryan Hunter-Reay on the restart and a crash by defending champion Dario Franchitti moments later handed Kanaan a long-sought triumph over 200 laps at the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval.

"I can't believe it. I'm speechless," Kanaan said. "I got a little bit of luck today."

Kanaan ensured his likeness will be molded onto the champions' trophy in his 12th Indy start.

"We were known for not winning. Now we're known for winning," Kanaan said. "This is it. I made it. Finally, I'm going to put my ugly face on that trophy."

On the lap 198 restart after a crash by US racer Graham Rahal, Kanaan went low around Hunter-Reay and took the lead in the first turn while Colombian rookie Carlos Munoz, in his first IndyCar race, went high and took second.

Seconds later, Franchitti hit the wall to bring out yellow flags for the final time as the race cruised to the finish under slow-speed caution laps.

"I couldn't believe it," Kanaan said. "The last lap was the longest lap of my life. I wanted the pace car to hurry up."

Hunter-Reay was third, American Marco Andretti fourth, Britain's Justin Wilson fifth and three-time winner Helio Castroneves of Brazil sixth.

There were an Indy 500 record 14 leaders and 68 lead changes, twice the old record set just last year.

Munoz, Indy's youngest-ever front row starter at age 21, was sorry he never had the chance to battle Kanaan at full speed over the final laps.

"I had a shot to overtake for the win. I couldn't do anything," Munoz said. "I'm sad now, but I think I had the car to win this thing. Maybe next year I will get the chance to win it."

Many rivals were glad to see Kanaan complete his long journey to Victory Lane.

"If there's anybody who deserved to win it's TK," Andretti said. "We're frustrated - fourth is as far back as we were all day - but we're leading the (IndyCar season) points now so I guess that's OK."

"I saw TK was (going to win). That cheered me up just a little bit," said three-time winner Franchitti, who was unharmed. "I couldn't be happier for him."

"Well deserved. I'm happy for him," said Castroneves.

Kanaan had two good luck charms. One was a medal he had given a fan that she returned to him ahead of the race in hopes of helping him finally win at Indy.

The other came when former IndyCar racer Alex Zanardi of Italy, who had his legs amputated after a horrific 2001 crash, rubbed his 2012 London Paralympic handbiking road race gold medal on his friend Kanaan's car.

"It's a dream come true to see Tony win," Zanardi said.

Kanaan had been among the leaders all day with Andretti, the 2006 Indy 500 runner-up, and Hunter-Reay, the reigning series season champion, dueling with him to set up the late drama, but still no US racer has won at Indy since 2006.

Franchitti and Castroneves missed a chance to match the all-time record four Indy 500 wins by a single driver.

Results from Sunday's 97th Indianapolis 500 with driver, nationality and laps complete (race finished under caution):

1. Tony Kanaan (BRA) 200 laps in 2hrs 40mins 3.4181secs at 187.433 mph (301.644 km/h)
2. Carlos Munoz (COL) same lap
3. Ryan Hunter-Reay (USA) s.l.
4. Marco Andretti (USA) s.l.
5. Justin Wilson (ENG) s.l.
6. Helio Castroneves (BRA) s.l.
7. AJ Allmendinger (USA) s.l.
8. Simon Pagenaud (FRA) s.l.
9. Charlie Kimball (USA) s.l.
10. Ed Carpenter (USA) s.l.
11. Oriol Servia (ESP) s.l.
12. Ryan Briscoe (AUS) s.l.
13. Takuma Sato (JPN) s.l.
14. Scott Dixon (NZL) s.l.
15. Ana Beatriz (BRA) s.l.
16. Tristan Vautier (FRA) s.l.
17. Simona de Silvestro (SUI) s.l.
18. E.J. Viso (VEN) s.l.
19. Will Power (AUS) s.l.
20. James Jakes (ENG) one lap down
21. James Hinchcliffe (CAN) s.l.
22. Conor Daly (USA) two laps down
23. Dario Franchitti (SCO) three laps down, crash
24. Alex Tagliani (CAN) four laps down
25. Graham Rahal (USA) seven laps down, crash
26. Katherine Legge (ENG) s.l.
27. Townsend Bell (USA) eight laps down
28. Josef Newgarden (USA) nine laps down
29. Sebastien Bourdais (FRA) 22 laps down, crash
30. Pippa Mann (ENG) 154 laps down, crash
31. Buddy Lazier (USA) 156 laps down, mechanical failure
32. Sebastian Saavedra (COL) 166 laps down, crash
33. J.R. Hildebrand (USA) 197 laps down, crash

Read more on:    motorsport

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.