Ogier wins again in Poland

2014-06-29 17:27
Sebastien Ogier (AFP)

Mikolajki - Reigning world champion Sebastien Ogier of France in a Volkswagen Polo won the Rally of Poland counting toward the World Rally Championship on Sunday.

It was Ogier's fifth win of the season out of seven rallies and the 21st of his career.

After 24 special stages and 360 kilometres of timed sections, Ogier finished clear of his teammate Andreas Mikkelsen of Norway with Belgium's Thierry Neuville in a Hyundai in third place.

The win means that Ogier extended his lead atop the world championship standings with 166 points against 116 for his other teammate Jari-Matti Latvala, who could only place fifth in Poland.

The Frenchman dominated the rally from start to finish and he held a comfortable lead going into the final day's action.

He never looked like being caught and by any of his rivals with Latvala being ruled out of contention after his car suspension was damaged by a stray stone on Saturday's 14th special stage.

Latvala won in Sweden and Argentina earlier in the season, with Ogier winning the others in Monte-Carlo, Mexico, Portugal, Sardinia and now Poland.

"I think it was the perfect weekend for me," said Ogier.

"I am really happy - victory and a good step for the championship (too). The stages were good fun and high speed."

Despite his disappointment at missing out on top spot, Mikkelsen was able to cruise to second place, and he reflected on a solid weekend.

"It has been a great weekend for me," Mikkelsen said. "I really enjoyed the stages. We battled hard with Seb [Ogier].

"It was a shame we lost time yesterday with the brakes and a mistake from me, but still a very positive weekend."

Leading final standings at the end of the Rally of Poland on Sunday, the seventh leg of the world championship season:

1. Sebastien Ogier-Julien Ingrassia (FRA/VW Polo-R) 2:34:02.0, 2. Andreas Mikkelsen-Ola Floene (NOR/VW Polo-R) at 1:07.7, 3. Thierry Neuville-Nicolas Gilsoul (BEL/Hyundai i20) at 2:13.5, 4. Mikko Hirvonen-Jarmo Lehtinen (FIN/Ford Fiesta RS) at 2:32.4, 5. Jari-Matti Latvala-Mikka Anttila (FIN/VW Polo-R) at 2:33.1, 6. Juho Hnninen-Tommi Tuominen (FIN/Hyundai i20) at 2:49.9, 7. Kris Meeke-Paul Nagle (GBR-IRL/Citron DS3) at 4:27.9, 8. Hayden Paddon-John Kennard (NZL/Hyundai i20) at 4:32.1, 9. Henning Solberg-Ilka Minor (NOR-AUT/Ford Fiesta RS) at 4:59.0, 10. Martin Prokop-Jan Tomanek (CZE/Ford Fiesta RS) at 6:11.3, 11. Ott Tnak-Raigo Mlder (EST/Ford Fiesta R5) at 8:10.3

Drivers overall standings:

1. Sbastien Ogier (FRA) 166 points, 2. Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) 116 pts, 3. Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR) 83 pts, 4. Mads Ostberg (NOR) 66 pts, 5. Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) 52 pts, 6. Thierry Neuville (BEL) 46 pts, 7. Kris Meeke (GBR) 38 pts, 8. Elfyn Evans (GBR) 36 pts, 9. Martin Prokop (CZE) 31 pts, 10. Henning Solberg (NOR) 24 pts

Constructors overall standings:

1. Volkswagen Motorsport, 262 points, 2. Citron WRT, 115 pts, 3. M-Sport WRT (Ford), 90 pts, 4. Volkswagen Motorsport 2, 82 pts, 5. Hyundai Motorsport, 80 pts

Read more on:    sebastien ogier  |  motorsport  |  rallying

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.