Ogier wins Rally of Sardinia

2013-06-22 19:42
Sebastien Ogier (File)

Rome - World championship leader Sebastien Ogier won the Rally of Sardinia on Saturday having dominated the seventh leg of the world rally championship throughout.

The VW Polo driver finished ahead of the Ford Focus of Belgian Thierry Neuville with Ogier's teammate, Finn Jari-Matti Latvala, in third.

Ogier claimed his fourth success of the year by posting the fastest time in seven of the two-day rally's 16 special stages.

He was helped by problems suffered by Latvala, who lost two minutes due to a puncture on Friday, while Mikko Hirvonen in a Citroen had to pull out after ending up in a ditch on Saturday's second special.

Ogier now leads the drivers' standings by 64 points from Latvala.

"We controlled the rally perfectly from start to finish," said the winner.

"We pushed when we needed to and we were more cautious when it was tougher and more dangerous for the tyres."

Neuville, who is placed third in the overall standings, 84 points adrift of Ogier, was thrilled with his performance, especially after a number of surprises on the road.

"We came across a cow, we had to slow down and pass it," he recounted.

The championship moves on next to Finland on August 1-3.

Final standings in the Rally of Sardinia, the seventh round of the world championship, after the second of two days on Saturday:

1. Sebastien Ogier (FRA/VW Polo-R) 3hr 22min 57.9sec, 2. Thierry Neuville (BEL/Ford Fiesta RS) 1:16.8, 3. Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN/VW Polo-R) 1:48.0, 4. Dani Sordo (ESP/Citroen DS3) 3:19.2, 5. Martin Prokop (CZE/Ford Fiesta RS) 8:34.1, 6. Elfyn Evans (GBR/ITA Ford Fiesta RS) 11:51.8, 7. Michal Kosciuszko/Maciej Szczepaniak (POL/Ford Fiesta RS) 11:52.7, 8. Mads Ostberg (DEN/Ford Fiesta RS) 13:21.5, 9. Robert Kubica (Citroen DS3) 16:47.6, 10. Khalid Al Qassimi (UAE/Citroen DS3) 17:19.9

Special stage winners:

Ogier 7 (SS1, SS3, SS6, SS10, SS11, SS14, SS15), Latvala 6 (SS2, SS7, SS8, SS12, SS13, SS16), Neuville 2 (SS4, SS5), Hirvonen (SS9)

World championship standings


1. Sebastien Ogier (FRA) 154pts, 2. Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) 90, 3. Thierry Neuville (BEL) 70, 4. Sebastien Loeb (FRA) 68, 5. Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) 61, 6. Dani Sordo (ESP) 59, 7. Mads Ostberg (NOR) 50, 8. Martin Prokop (CZE) 37, 9. Evgeny Novikov (RUS) 31, 10. Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) 30


1. Volkswagen Motorsport 220pts, 2. Citroen Abu Dhabi WRT 174, 3. Qatar M-Sport WRT (Ford) 89, 4. Qatar WRT (Ford) 89, 5. Abu Dhabi Citron WRT 33

Read more on:    sebastien ogier  |  rallying

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.