Montoya bags $2.4m for Indy 500 win

2015-05-26 12:11
Juan Pablo Montoya (File)

Indianapolis - Juan Pablo Montoya received $2 449 055 in an awards ceremony on Monday for his victory in the 99th Indianapolis 500 after the Colombian won the fourth-closest finish in race history.

Montoya, whose only other Indy 500 triumph came as a rookie in 2000, took the lion's share of the overall purse of $13 397 315 for his Sunday triumph over 200 laps at the 2.5-mile (4km) Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval.

Montoya edged reigning IndyCar series champion Will Power of Australia by 0.1046 of a second at the checkered flag after the two and fourth-place Scott Dixon of New Zealand exchanged the lead five times over the final 11 laps.

The 15-year gap between Indy 500 wins for Montoya is a race record. The South American's total of only nine laps led is third-fewest for any Indy 500 winner after the late Dan Wheldon of England led only one in 2011 and Joe Dawson led only two in 1912.

Power took home $792 555 for his career-best runner-up effort while American Charlie Kimball, who surged late to finish third, won $564 055.

Dixon, the pole-sitter and 2008 Indy 500 winner, took $615 805, including $100 000 for winning the pole.

Dixon led the most laps of any racer Sunday with 84, having also led the most race laps in 2008, 2009 and 2011. Only Mario Andretti and Louis Meyer have matched Dixon is leading the most laps in four Indy 500 starts.

Colombian Gabby Chaves qualified 26th and finished 16th in his first Indy 500 start to claim the Rookie of the Year award. He finished with $399 055.

Read more on:    motorsport

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.