Melandri claims Aragon win

2012-07-01 19:29

Aragon - Marco Melandri claimed his third victory of the season, winning an intense second race here ahead of Eugene Laverty and Chaz Davies.

According to, Race Two got under way with Max Biaggi and Laverty leading into the first corner before the latter overtook his teammate. The BMWs slotted in behind the two Aprilias with Leon Haslam third before he was overtaken by his teammate Marco Melandri. Pole-sitter Tom Sykes dropped to fifth ahead of Davide Guigliano and Jonathan Rea.

Four laps into the race, the leading trio were line to stern as they battled for every inch of track before Biaggi finally made a move stick on his teammate, similar to his move on Laverty in Race One. Melandri followed him through a few corners later as for the second time on the day it was Biaggi leading ahead of Melandri.

Behind the leading trio, Haslam, Chaz Davies, Sykes, Guigliano and Checa fought over fourth place while Rea was sitting at the back of the battle.

Just before the halfway point of the race Laverty was back at the front having stormed past Biaggi while Melandri appeared to be biding his time in third. The Italian made his move two laps later, sliding by Biaggi and into second. Meanwhile, Davies in fourth put some breathing room between him and the battle for fifth.

Davies closed up on the leading group, which was now led by Melandri while a dive down the inside of Turn 1 put Biaggi into second ahead of Laverty. Biaggi then took the lead before Melandri put in a block pass that put him into first, Davies second and Laverty third. Biaggi was down to fourth with four to go.

The intense battle between the quartet continued to rage as the laps counted down with all four taking chances, ducking and diving to pass each other. However, on the final lap it was Melandri who had that something extra, taking the lead off Laverty, who tried to fight back but couldn't.

Davies completed the podium despite Biaggi's best efforts to finish third. The top four separated by half a second!

Rea was fifth, his first points of the weekend, ahead of Haslam, Checa and Sykes.

After Race Two, Biaggi retained the lead in the Championship, 48 points ahead of Melandri with Rea, Checa and Sykes completing the top five.


1. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 39'59.200
2. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 39'59.242
3. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 39'59.646
4. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 39'59.684
5. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 40'05.811
6. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 40'06.691
7. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 40'08.525
8. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 40'09.644
9. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 40'10.028
10. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 40'10.125
11. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 40'21.155
12. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 40'21.246
13. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 40'21.686
14. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 40'42.001
15. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 40'48.344
16. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 40'50.161
17. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 41'00.063
18. Leandro Mercado (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 41'13.349
19. Norino Brignola (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 41'52.588
20. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 41'37.232
RT. Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 35'03.915
RT. John Hopkins (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 6'11.966