Marquez wins Australian MotoGP

2015-10-18 08:09
Marc Marquez (AP)

Phillip Island - Spanish Repsol Honda rider Marc Marquez overtook Jorge Lorenzo on the final lap to win a thrilling Australian MotoGP at Phillip Island on Sunday.

Marquez pipped his fellow Spaniard by 0.249 seconds, with Italian Ducati rider Andrea Iannone third.

Valentino Rossi finished fourth and had his world championship lead cut to 11 points over Lorenzo with two races left.

Lorenzo had looked as if he would hold on to win. But Marquez swept beneath him on a bend and went on to win his first premier-class race at Phillip Island after missing out in the past two years.

Last year Marquez crashed out while leading off the pole and in the 2013 race he was disqualified.

It was an exhilarating tussle between the top four riders with overtaking manoeuvres thrilling the Phillip Island crowd in one of the best races in recent years.

Rossi, 36, the seven-time world champion in the premier class, battled to the end in his record-equalling 328th GP to make his 16th podium on his 19th trip to Australia. But he was edged out by Iannone's greater speed.

It was 22-year-old Marquez's 24th MotoGP win in his 52nd start. But he cannot defend his world title this year as he trails Rossi by 74 points with just two races left in the season.

Marquez finished in fourth place at Motegi last weekend despite riding with a broken hand. He showed the benefit of the extra week's recovery to get home at Phillip Island, one of only two tracks on the circuit where he had not previously won in the premier class.

The race for the world championship goes down to the final two races in Malaysia and Spain between Rossi and Lorenzo.

Collated results from the motorcycling Grand Prix of Australia on Sunday:


1. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) 40 minutes 33.849 seconds, 2. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Yamaha) at 0.249 sec, 3. Andrea Iannone (ITA/Ducati) 0.930, 4. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 1.058, 5. Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) 5.062, 6. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Suzuki) 6.800, 7. Cal Crutchlow (GBR/Honda LCR) 9.375, 8. Pol Espargaro (ESP/Yamaha Tech3) 18.401, 9. Aleix Espargaro (ESP/Suzuki) 20.039, 10. Bradley Smith (GBR/Yamaha Tech3) 20.657.

World Championship standings (after 16 of 18 races)

1. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 296, 2. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Yamaha) 285, 3. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) 222, 4. Andrea Iannone (ITA/Ducati) 188, 5. Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) 165, 6. Bradley Smith (GBR/Yamaha Tech3) 158, 7. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) 153, 8. Cal Crutchlow (GBR/Honda LCR) 107, 9. Danilo Petrucci (ITA/Ducati Pramac) 97, 10. Pol Espargaro (ESP/Yamaha Tech3) 96


1. Alex Rins (ESP/Kalex) 39min 00.084sec, 2.Sam Lowes (GBR/Speed Up) at 6.633, 3. Lorenzo Baldassarri (ITA/Kalex) 10.408, 4. Takaaki Nakagami (JPN/Kalex) 15.536, 5. Xavier Simeon (BEL/Kalex) 16.205, 6. Luis Salom (ESP/Kalex) 17.241, 7. Johann Zarco (FRA/Kalex) 20.456, 8. Mika Kallio (FIN/Speed Up) 21.883, 9. Alex Marquez (ESP/Kalex) 24.473, 10. Randy Krummenacher (SUI/Kalex) 24.559

World Championship standings (after 16 of 18 races)

1. Johann Zarco (FRA/Kalex) 318, 2. Alex Rins (ESP/Kalex) 214, 3. Tito Rabat (ESP/Kalex) 206, 4. Sam Lowes (GBR/Speed Up) 172, 5. Jonas Folger (GER/Kalex) 145, 6. Thomas Luthi (SUI/Kalex) 143, 7. Xavier Simeon (BEL/Kalex) 107, 8. Franco Morbidelli (ITA/Kalex) 89, 9. Takaaki Nakagami (JPN/Kalex) 82, 10. Sandro Cortese (GER/Kalex) 78.


1. Miguel Oliveira (POR/KTM) 37 minutes 34.742 seconds, 2. Efren Vazquez (ESP/Honda) at 0.132sec, 3. Brad Binder (RSA/KTM) 0.161, 4. Jorge Navarro (ESP/Honda) 0.170, 5. Jakub Kornfeil (CZE/KTM) 0.288, 6. Romano Fenati (ITA/KTM) 1.006, 7. Philipp Oettl (GER/KTM) 6.200, 8. Isaac Vinales (ESP/KTM) 6.253, 9. Alexis Masbou (FRA/Honda) 6.322, 10. Remy Gardner (AUS/Mahindra) 7.567.

World Championship standings (after 16 of 18 races)

1. Danny Kent (GBR/Honda) 244, 2. Miguel Oliveira (POR/KTM) 204, 3. Enea Bastianini (ITA/Honda) 188, 4. Romano Fenati (ITA/KTM) 165, 5. Niccolo Antonelli (ITA/Honda) 161, 6. Efren Vazquez (ESP/Honda) 155, 7. Brad Binder (RSA/KTM) 126, 8. Jorge Navarro (ESP/Honda) 121, 9. Isaac Vinales (ESP/KTM) 103, 10. Fabio Quartararo (FRA/Honda) 92.

Read more on:    jorge lorenzo  |  marc marquez  |  motogp  |  motorsport


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.