Indy 500 grid finalised

2015-05-22 22:04

Indianapolis - French racer Tristan Vautier was named on Friday to replace Colombian Carlos Huertas in Sunday's 99th Indianapolis 500 after doctors ruled out the South American due to an inner ear condition.

Vautier, who finished fifth in the 2013 Indy 500, had qualified a car for Australian James Davison, who competed in a Canadian sports car event last weekend that conflicted with Indy 500 qualifying.

That had been expected to end the Frenchman's month at the 2.5-mile (4km) oval, but he became a last-minute substitute after IndyCar medical consultant Terry Trammell ruled Friday morning that Huertas would be unable to take the track this weekend and would need more evaluation before returning to future IndyCar events.

That opened the door for Vautier to jump into the Honda-powered car that Huertas had qualified 18th overall, one the outside of row six in the original starting grid.

But driver switches have dropped three cars into the back row for the race, Vautier joining Davison and Aussie Ryan Briscoe, a replacement for crash-injured Canadian James Hinchcliffe.

Revised starting grid for Sunday's Indianapolis 500:

1. Scott Dixon (NZL) Dallara-Chevrolet 226.760 mph (364.93 Km/h)

2. Will Power (AUS) Dallara-Chevrolet 226.350

3. Simon Pagenaud (FRA) Dallara-Chevrolet 226.145

4. Tony Kanaan (BRA) Dallara-Chevrolet 225.503

5. Helio Castroneves (BRA) Dallara-Chevrolet 225.502

6. Justin Wilson (GBR) Dallara-Honda 225.279

7. Sebastien Bourdais (FRA) Dallara-Chevrolet 225.193

8. Marco Andretti (USA) Dallara-Honda 225.189

9. Josef Newgarden (USA) Dallara-Chevrolet 225.187

10. J.R. Hildebrand (USA) Dallara-Chevrolet 225.099

11. Carlos Munoz (COL) Dallara-Honda 225.042

12. Ed Carpenter (USA) Dallara-Chevrolet 224.883

13. Oriol Servia (ESP) Dallara-Honda 224.777

14. Charlie Kimball (USA) Dallara-Chevrolet 224.743

15. Juan Pablo Montoya (COL) Dallara-Chevrolet 224.657

16. Ryan Hunter-Reay (USA) Dallara-Honda 224.438

17. Graham Rahal (USA) Dallara-Honda 224.290

18. Simona de Silvestro (SUI) Dallara-Honda 223.838

19. James Jakes (GBR) Dallara-Honda 223.790

20. Alex Tagliani (CAN) Dallara-Honda 223.722

21. Sage Karam (USA) Dallara-Chevrolet 223.595

22. Conor Daly (USA) Dallara-Honda 223.482

23. Townsend Bell (USA) Dallara-Chevrolet 223.447

24. Takuma Sato (JPN) Dallara-Honda 223.226

25. Pippa Mann (GBR) Dallara-Honda 223.104

26. Gabby Chaves (COL) Dallara-Honda 222.916

27. Sebastian Saavedra (COL) Dallara-Chevrolet 222.898

28. Jack Hawksworth (GBR) Dallara-Honda 223.738

29. Stefano Coletti (MON) Dallara-Chevrolet 222.001

30. Bryan Clauson (USA) Dallara-Chevrolet 221.358

31. Ryan Briscoe (AUS) Dallara-Honda 223.519-x

32. Tristan Vautier (FRA) Dallara-Honda 224.233-y

33. James Davison (AUS) Dallara-Honda 223.747-z

x-dropped back after Briscoe named to replace crash-injured James Hinchcliffe (CAN).

y-dropped back after Vautier named to replace Carlos Huertas (COL) due to inner ear condition.

z-dropped back after Davison replaced qualifying driver Vautier, with row order based on current season points.

Read more on:    indy 500  |  motorsport

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.