Hamilton on pole in Melbourne

2014-03-15 09:17
Lewis Hamilton (AFP)

Melbourne - Lewis Hamilton has snatched pole position from home favourite Daniel Ricciardo in the dying seconds of a thrilling Australian Grand Prix qualifying session Saturday, as world champion Sebastian Vettel failed to make the top 10.

Australia's Ricciardo, embarking on his first race with Red Bull, stormed to the top of the field on his last run, before he was trumped by Mercedes' Hamilton in a flying final lap in treacherous wet conditions.

The 2008 world champion's German team-mate, Nico Rosberg, placed third, with McLaren rookie Kevin Magnussen fourth and Ferrari's Fernando Alonso fifth in the season's first qualifying session.

But there was a sensational miss for Vettel, seeking his fifth straight world title and record 10th consecutive race win, who failed even to reach the final qualifying shoot-out and will start from 12th.

Hamilton's Q3 time of 1min 44.231sec, three-tenths better than Ricciardo, gave him his third Melbourne pole and the 32nd of his career, equalling the total reached by fellow Briton and ex-world champion Nigel Mansell.

"It's been an interesting weekend and today made it so much more harder for everyone with the conditions," Hamilton said.

"But I'm really happy with what the team did and these new cars are a lot harder to drive in the wet -- it was the first time for me driving in the wet (in the new car) so it was a serious task and challenge today."

Vettel had been struggling in his Red Bull car, slow to adapt to a raft of technical changes, and he was held up in Q2 after Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen hit a wall and yellow flags ordered drivers to slow down.

It was the first time since Abu Dhabi in 2012 that Vettel has missed Q3, while Hamilton's pole position ends Red Bull's run of eight consecutive races after the Belgian Grand Prix in August.

"It was tricky conditions, for some reason we had more problems today than we had yesterday... the speed is there so we'll see what it (the car) can do tomorrow," Vettel said.

"It's a long race, anything can happen we've seen this year so far that with these cars anything is possible so especially in the race I think there will be plenty of opportunities, so we'll see what we get."

Vettel will be in good company halfway down the grid after former world champions Raikkonen and Jenson Button of McLaren also failed to reach the final qualifying shoot-out.

Raikkonen nosed into a wall and came to a stop, while Button, who had claimed two previous poles in Melbourne, was 11th quickest and just missed out on Q3.

But while Vettel was lamenting his qualifying flop, his new team-mate Ricciardo -- replacing retired fellow Australian Mark Webber -- was beaming after a dream first qualifying drive for Red Bull.

"It was exciting. Definitely the weather added to the mix and the whole session went well," said Ricciardo.

"It was the first time we've all driven these cars on the limit in wet conditions. It was tricky but at the same time it was a lot of fun and really nice for the first qualifying session (for Red Bull)."

Toro Rosso's Jean-Eric Vergne impressively placed sixth, with his rookie Russian team-mate Daniil Kvyat eighth. The two were split by Force India's Nico Hulkenberg.

But Lotus had a nightmare first outing of the season when both their drivers, Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado, went out in Q1.

Rain lashed the circuit 10 minutes into qualifying, sending fans scurrying for their umbrellas and rain jackets.

Hamilton and then Rosberg went quickest in the final seconds before Ricciardo brought a mighty roar from the crowd when he outstripped the Mercedes pair in his Red Bull.

But Hamilton, still on the track for his last flying lap, screeched round to steal pole position back at the death.

Results from qualifying for the Australian Grand Prix on Saturday:

1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:44.231
2. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull-Renault 1:44.548
3. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1:44.595
4. Kevin Magnussen (DEN) McLaren-Mercedes 1:45.745
5. Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari 1:45.819
6. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA) Toro Rosso-Renault 1:45.864
7. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Force India-Mercedes 1:46.030
8. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Toro Rosso-Renault 1:47.368
9. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams-Mercedes 1:48.079
10. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams-Mercedes 1:48.147

1. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1:42.264 (Q)
2. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull-Renault 1:42.295 (Q)
3. Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari 1:42.805 (Q)
4. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:42.890 (Q)
5. Kevin Magnussen (DEN) McLaren-Mercedes 1:43.247 (Q)
6. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Force India-Mercedes 1:43.658 (Q)
7. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA) Toro Rosso-Renault 1:43.849 (Q)
8. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams-Mercedes 1:43.852 (Q)
9. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams-Mercedes 1:44.242 (Q)
10. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Toro Rosso-Renault 1:44.331 (Q)
11. Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren-Mercedes 1:44.437
12. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1:44.494
13. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull-Renault 1:44.668
14. Adrian Sutil (GER) Sauber-Ferrari 1:45.655
15. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN) Caterham-Renault 1:45.867
16. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India-Mercedes 1:47.293

1. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull-Renault 1:30.775 (Q)
2. Kevin Magnussen (DEN) McLaren-Mercedes 1:30.949 (Q)
3. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams-Mercedes 1:31.228 (Q)
4. Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari 1:31.388 (Q)
5. Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren-Mercedes 1:31.396 (Q)
6. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams-Mercedes 1:31.601 (Q)
7. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:31.699 (Q)
8. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull-Renault 1:31.931 (Q)
9. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1:32.439 (Q)
10. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1:32.564 (Q)
11. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA) Toro Rosso-Renault 1:33.488 (Q)
12. Adrian Sutil (GER) Sauber-Ferrari 1:33.673 (Q)
13. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Toro Rosso-Renault 1:33.777 (Q)
14. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Force India-Mercedes 1:33.893 (Q)
15. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India-Mercedes 1:34.141 (Q)
16. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN) Caterham-Renault 1:34.274 (Q)
17. Max Chilton (GBR) Marussia-Ferrari 1:34.293
18. Jules Bianchi (FRA) Marussia-Ferrari 1:34.794
19. Esteban Gutierrez (MEX) Sauber-Ferrari 1:35.117
20. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Caterham-Renault 1:35.157
21. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus-Renault 1:36.993
22. Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Lotus-Renault


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.