Hamilton on pole at Monza

2015-09-05 15:04
Lewis Hamilton (AFP)

Cape Town - Lewis Hamilton claimed his seventh successive pole position when posting the quickest time in his Mercedes in qualifying on Saturday for the Italian Grand Prix.

Hamilton's 11th pole from the 12 races this season came at the expense of the two Ferraris driven by Kimi Raikkonen, the Finn's first front row start since China in 2013, and Sebastian Vettel.

Hamilton's team-mate Nico Rosberg, who trails the world champion by 28 points, could manage only fourth.

The last driver to notch up seven poles in a row was Michael Schumacher in a Ferrari in 2000-01.

Italian Formula One Grand Prix qualifying times at Monza on Saturday:

Qualifying N.3

1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:23.397, 2. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1:23.631, 3. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1:23.685, 4. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1:23.703, 5. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams 1:23.940, 6. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams 1:24.127, 7. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India 1:24.626, 8. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus 1:25.054, 9. Nico Hlkenberg (GER) Force India 1:25.317, 10. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Sauber 1:26.214

Qualifying N.2

1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:23.383 (Q), 2. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1:23.577 (Q), 3. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1:23.757 (Q), 4. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1:23.864 (Q), 5. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams 1:23.983 (Q), 6. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams 1:24.313 (Q), 7. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India 1:24.379 (Q), 8. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus 1:24.448 (Q), 9. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Sauber 1:24.457 (Q), 10. Nico Hlkenberg (GER) Force India 1:24.510 (Q)

Did not qualify

11. Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Lotus 1:24.525, 12. Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber 1:24.898, 13. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso 1:25.618, 14. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull 1:25.796, 15. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull

Qualifying N.1

1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:24.251 (Q), 2. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1:24.609 (Q), 3. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1:24.662 (Q), 4. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India 1:24.801 (Q), 5. Nico Hlkenberg (GER) Force India 1:24.937 (Q), 6. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams 1:24.979 (Q), 7. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1:24.989 (Q), 8. Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber 1:25.121 (Q), 9. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Sauber 1:25.122 (Q), 10. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus 1:25.144 (Q), 11. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams 1:25.184 (Q), 12. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso 1:25.410 (Q), 13. Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Lotus 1:25.429 (Q), 14. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull 1:25.633 (Q), 15. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull 1:25.742 (Q), 16. Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren 1:26.058 (Q)

Did not qualify

17. Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren 1:26.154, 18. Will Stevens (GBR) Marussia 1:27.731, 19. Roberto Merhi (ESP) Marussia 1:27.912, 20. Max Verstappen (NED) Toro Rosso

Read more on:    lewis hamilton  |  f1


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.