Hamilton gains pole for Belgian GP

2015-08-22 15:40
Lewis Hamilton (AFP)

Spa-Francorchamps - Lewis Hamilton topped Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg on Saturday to take pole position for the Belgian Grand Prix.

The defending Formula One champion won his 10th pole of the season by leaving Rosberg nearly half a second behind in qualifying.

Rosberg dominated the first two practice runs on Friday, despite a scary tire puncture in the afternoon session. But in the third run ahead of qualifying, Hamilton was faster by half a second.

Hamilton is looking to increase his 21-point lead over Rosberg in the drivers' standings and take his sixth victory of the season.

This was the British driver's 48th career pole. Hamilton is the first driver since Michael Schumacher in 2001 to claim six consecutive pole positions.

Valttteri Botas was third in a Williams.

Belgian Formula One Grand Prix qualifying times at Spa-Francorchamps on Saturday:

Qualifying N.3

1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1min 47.197sec, 2. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1:47.655, 3. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams-Mercedes 1:48.537, 4. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus-Mercedes 1:48.561, 5. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India-Mercedes 1:48.599, 6. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull-Renault 1:48.639, 7. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams-Mercedes 1:48.685, 8. Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Lotus-Mercedes 1:48.754, 9. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1:48.825, 10. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso-Renault 1:49.771

Qualifying N.2

1. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1min 47.955sec (Q), 2. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:48.024 (Q), 3. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1:48.761 (Q), 4. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India-Mercedes 1:48.792 (Q), 5. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams-Mercedes 1:48.806 (Q), 6. Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Lotus-Mercedes 1:48.956 (Q), 7. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus-Mercedes 1:48.981 (Q), 8. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull-Renault 1:49.042 (Q), 9. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams-Mercedes 1:49.044 (Q), 10. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso-Renault 1:49.065 (Q)

Did not qualify for third session

11. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Force India-Mercedes 1:49.121, 12. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull-Renault 1:49.228, 13. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Sauber-Ferrari 1:49.586, 14. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari, 15. Max Verstappen (NED) Toro Rosso-Renault

Qualifying N.1

1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1min 48.908sec (Q), 2. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1:48.923 (Q), 3. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India-Mercedes 1:49.006 (Q), 4. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams-Mercedes 1:49.026 (Q), 5. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso-Renault 1:49.109 (Q), 6. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1:49.264 (Q), 7. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1:49.288 (Q), 8. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus-Mercedes 1:49.353 (Q), 9. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull-Renault 1:49.469 (Q), 10. Nico Hlkenberg (GER) Force India-Mercedes 1:49.499 (Q), 11. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Sauber-Ferrari 1:49.523 (Q), 12. Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Lotus-Mercedes 1:49.568 (Q), 13. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull-Renault 1:49.664 (Q), 14. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams-Mercedes 1:49.688 (Q), 15. Max Verstappen (NED) Toro Rosso-Renault 1:49.831 (Q)

Did not qualify for second session

16. Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber-Ferrari 1:49.952, 17. Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren-Honda 1:50.978, 18. Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren-Honda 1:51.420, 19. Will Stevens (GBR) Marussia-Ferrari 1:52.948, 20. Roberto Merhi (ESP) Marussia-Ferrari 1:53.099

Read more on:    gp  |  nico rosberg  |  lewis hamilton  |  motorsport


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.