Four women to start Indy 500

2013-05-20 12:21
Indy car (File)
Indianapolis - Britain's Katherine Legge and Pippa Mann and Brazilian Ana Beatriz joined the Indianapolis 500 starting grid on Sunday to match a race record four women starters in this year's field.

The trio joined Swiss racer Simona de Silvestro, who qualified Saturday, to match the mark from 2010 and 2011 for female drivers in Indy's 33-car field. They were among nine qualifiers on Sunday's final day of time trials.

The 97th Indy 500 will be staged next Sunday over the famed 2 1/2-mile (4km) Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval.

Legge had the slowest qualifying speed after a four-lap qualifying average Sunday of 223.176 mph. She only signed a deal Saturday to make a run at an Indy start for the second year in a row.

Mexico's Michel Jourdain, the only driver who failed to make the field, never approached practice speeds fast enough to threaten Legge's mark, unable to bump his way into the field before the qualifying session concluded.

American Ed Carpenter won pole position on Saturday to lead 24 drivers in securing spots in the first eight rows on the starting grid.

The final nine spots over the three back rows were filled shortly after the speedway opened Sunday, led by American Josef Newgarden, who booked the inside of the ninth row with an average speed of 225.731 mph.

American Graham Rahal and Colombia's Sebastian Saavedra completed row nine with Frenchman Tristan Vautier on the inside of row 10 alongside Beatriz with Mann on the outside.

American Conor Daly and countryman Buddy Lazier, the 1996 Indy 500 winner, were on the last row with Legge claiming the outside spot.

Chevrolet engines power 17 qualifiers, including the 10 fastest drivers, while 16 others have Honda power plants, the fastest of them Canadian Alex Tagliani, who starts in the middle of the fourth row.

Defending champion Dario Franchitti of Scotland will start in the middle of row six, the exact centre of the grid. He won last year after starting on the inside of row six.

Starting grid for next Sunday's 97th Indianapolis 500, with driver, nationality and four-lap qualifying average:

Row One
1. Ed Carpenter (USA) 228.762 mph
2. Carlos Munoz (COL) 228.342
3. Marco Andretti (USA) 228.261

Row Two
4. E.J. Viso (VEN) 228.150
5. A.J. Allmendinger (USA) 228.099
6. Will Power (AUS) 228.087

Row Three
7. Ryan Hunter-Reay (USA) 227.904
8. Helio Castroneves (BRA) 227.762
9. James Hinchcliffe (CAN) 227.070

Row Four
10. J.R. Hildebrand (USA) 227.441
11. Alex Tagliani (CAN) 227.386
12. Tony Kanaan (BRA) 226.949

Row Five
13. Oriol Servia (ESP) 226.814
14. Justin Wilson (ENG) 226.370
15. Sebastien Bourdais (FRA) 226.196

Row Six
16. Scott Dixon (NZL) 226.158
17. Dario Franchitti (SCO) 226.069
18. Takuma Sato (JPN) 225.892

Row Seven
19. Charlie Kimball (USA) 225.880
20. James Jakes (ENG) 225.809
21. Simon Pagenaud (FRA) 225.674

Row Eight
22. Townsend Bell (USA) 225.643
23. Ryan Briscoe (AUS) 225.265
24. Simona de Silvestro (SUI) 225.226

Row Nine
25. Josef Newgarden (USA) 225.731
26. Graham Rahal (USA) 225.007
27. Sebastian Saavedra (COL) 224.929

Row Ten
28. Tristan Vautier (FRA) 224.873
29. Ana Beatriz (BRA) 224.184
30. Pippa Mann (ENG) 224.005

Row Eleven
31. Conor Daly (USA) 223.582
32. Buddy Lazier (USA) 223.442
33. Katherine Legge (ENG) 223.176

Read more on:    indy 500  |  motorsport

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.