DakarRally 2012

Despres pulls clear in Dakar

2012-01-12 21:05
Cyril Despres (AP)

Arequipa - France's Cyril Despres claimed his fourth stage win on the Dakar Rally on Thursday between Arica, Chile, to here to extend his overall lead over Spain's defending motorbike champion Marc Coma.

Despres - whose relations with KTM team-mate Coma deteriorated after stewards halved the Frenchman's huge deficit on Monday's stage - added more than two minutes to his advantage on the Spaniard to 2min 22sec in the overall standings.

It was also the French rider's 30th stage victory on the Dakar.

He finished the 534km special (705km overall) 1min 39sec ahead of another KTM rider Gerard Farres Guell of Spain with Coma third at 2min 01.

Dakar Rally results after Thursday's 11th stage, a 534km special from Arica, Chile to Arequipa:



1. Cyril Despres (FRA) KTM 4hr 3min 37sec, 2. Gerard Farres Guell (ESP) KTM at 1min 39sec, 3. Marc Coma (ESP) KTM 2:01, 4. Johnny Aubert (FRA) KTM 3:30, 5. Juan Barreda Bort (ESP) Husqvarna 4:53, 6. Felipe Zanol (BRA) KTM 5:37, 7. Jordi Viladoms (ESP) KTM 5:54, 8. Helder Rodrigues (POR) Yamaha 7:44, 9. Pal Ullevalseter (NOR) KTM 7:44, 10. Stefan Svitko (SVK) KTM 10:18.

Overall standings

1. Cyril Despres (FRA) KTM 37hr 11min 16sec, 2. Marc Coma (ESP) KTM at 2min 22sec, 3. Helder Rodrigues (POR) Yamaha 1hr 08min 40sec, 4. Jordi Viladoms (ESP) KTM 1hr 24:46, 5. Stefan Svitko (SVK) KTM 1hr 34:56, 6. Gerard Farres Guell (ESP) KTM 1hr 37:00, 7. Pal Ullevalseter (NOR) KTM 2hr 04:06, 8. Alessandro Botturi (ITA) KTM 2hr 29:26, 9. Olivier Pain (FRA) Yamaha 2hr 40:15, 10. Felipe Zanol (BRA) KTM 3hr 09:37

Read more on:    dakar rally  |  cyril despres


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.