Alonso wins Singapore F1 GP

2010-09-26 16:14

Singapore - Ferrari's Fernando Alonso held off Sebastian Vettel in a thrilling finish to the Singapore Grand Prix on Sunday and moved to within 11 points of the Formula One championship lead.

The Spaniard led from start to finish but was pressured throughout by Red Bull's Vettel, who closed markedly over the final two laps to almost snatch a win.

Alonso won his second Singapore GP, crossing a finish line clouded in smoke. Lotus' Heikki Kovalainen had just stopped nearby with the rear half of his Lotus on fire.

Red Bull's Mark Webber finished third - surviving a mid-race collision that eliminated McLaren's Lewis Hamilton - to boost his championship lead to 11 points over Alonso with four races remaining. Webber leads with 202 points and Alonso is second with 191.

Hamilton nosed in front of Webber approaching a corner on lap 35 of 61 but the Australian did not yield the inside line and collided with the McLaren. While Hamilton's race was finished, Webber's Red Bull was unharmed and continued in the race.

The incident was investigated by stewards, but they chose to take no action, deeming it a fair racing incident.

Hamilton entered the race just five points off the championship lead, but his second straight non-finish meant he was now 20 points off the pace with 182.

McLaren's Jenson Button finished fourth, ahead of Mercedes' Nico Rosberg and Williams' Rubens Barrichello.

Robert Kubica of Renault was seventh after pitting late and passing several cars on fresh tires. Force India's Adrian Sutil was eighth, Williams' Nico Hulkenberg ninth, while Ferrari's Felipe Massa - who started from last on the grid - got the final point for 10th.

Alonso won the inaugural 2008 Singapore GP, but that victory was tainted by the 'Crashgate' scandal which emerged the following year. Alonso's then Renault teammate Nelson Piquet Jr. was ordered to deliberately crash to bring out the safety car to manipulate the running order and help Alonso win.

This was a fair and square win, and his 25th career victory puts him level on the all-time list with Niki Lauda and Jim Clark.

The next race will be in Japan on October 10.


1. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari) 1hr 57:53.579
2. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull) at 0.293
3. Mark Webber (AUS/Red Bull) at 29.141
4. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren) at 30.384
5. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes GP) at 49.394
6. Rubens Barrichello (BRA/Williams F1) at 56.101
7. Robert Kubica (POL/Renault) at 1:26.559
8. Adrian Sutil (GER/Force India) at 1:52.416
9. Nico Hlkenberg (GER/Williams F1) at 1:52.791
10. Felipe Massa (BRA/Ferrari) at 1:53.297
11. Vitaly Petrov (RUS/Renault) at 1 lap
12. Jaime Alguersuari (ESP/Toro Rosso) at 1 lap
13. Michael Schumacher (GER/Mercedes GP) at 1 lap
14. Sbastien Buemi (SWI/Toro Rosso) at 1 lap
15. Lucas Di Grassi (BRA/Virgin Racing) at 2 laps
16. Heikki Kovalainen (FIN/Lotus) at 3 laps


  • bennie - 2010-09-26 17:51

    Forza Alonso. Forza Ferrari.

  • Lily White - 2010-09-26 20:31

    Forza Alonso indeed.... Hamilton tried, but still hasn't learnt the lesson that some points are better than no points. This is why he lost the championship in his first year in F1 and almost lost it again in the second. As long as he cant cool down, his speed is useless and will always finish behind coll headed Button. The same can be said of Vettel in a sense. I guess some may see it as die hard racing, I see it as stupid and wasted opportunities. But ofcourse, I am no racer.

  • pages:
  • 1