Golf

R&A, USGA promise to clarify 'caddie aligning' rule

2019-02-04 15:42
Haotong Li, Li Haotong
Haotong Li (AP)

Cape Town - The R&A and USGA have announced they will provide "necessary clarifications" to the new rule prohibiting caddies from helping players with alignment.

The two-shot penalties handed out to Haotong Li in Dubai and Denny McCarthy in Phoenix were subject to widespread criticism in the press and on social media from fans and players alike.

Many are of the opinion that the interpretation of the rule, which came into effect on January 1, needs to be clarified so that players can be absolutely certain when they are transgressing it.

On paper, the new rule states that caddies cannot stand directly behind their players "when a player begins taking a stance for the stroke and until the stroke is made". A player can avoid a penalty by backing away and starting their shot process again, unless they are on the green.

In Li's case, he was given a two-shot penalty in Dubai last week when he began to take his stance over a short birdie putt just before his caddie moved to one side.

Over on the PGA Tour last week, McCarthy was also hit with a two-shot deduction after his caddie was seen standing behind him as he went through his practice swings.

His punishment was rescinded a day later after consultations with the games governing bodies, however, after it was decided he had taken a stance only for his practice routine rather than the actual shot.

Following all this drama, the R&A and USGA released a joint-statement announcing that the description of the rule will be altered and made clearer for officials to determine when to impose a penalty.

The statement read: "Following an ongoing dialogue with players and in co-operation with the PGA Tour rules team, The R&A and the USGA revisited the penalty assessed to Denny McCarthy during round two of the Phoenix Open.

"After an additional review of available video, it was determined that the penalty would not apply in this instance nor in a similar instance involving Justin Thomas.

"In each of these cases, when the caddie was standing behind the player, the player had not yet begun taking the stance for the stroke, nor could useful guidance on aiming be given because the player was still in the process of determining how to play the stroke. The same would be true for any similar situation that might occur.

"The R&A and the USGA recognise that clarity on how to appropriately apply this Rule is needed. We are committed to assessing its impact and will provide the necessary clarifications in the coming days."

Read more on:    pga tour  |  european tour  |  haotong li  |  golf

 

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

 
 
Men
Women
Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

Featured

The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs
Vote

Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

 
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.