Major championship lowest rounds

2017-07-22 18:03
Branden Grace (Getty)

Southport - South Africa's Branden Grace made history on Saturday as he became the first player ever to score 62 in a major championship during the third round of the British Open at Royal Birkdale.

Before his eight-under-par effort there had been a total of 31 rounds of 63 across all four majors.


Nick Price, 1986, third round (9-under)

Greg Norman, 1996, first round (9-under)

US Open

Johnny Miller, 1973 (Oakmont), final round (8-under)

Jack Nicklaus, 1980 (Baltusrol), first round (7-under)

Tom Weiskopf, 1980 (Baltusrol), first round (7-under)

Vijay Singh, 2003 (Olympia Fields), second round (7-under)

Justin Thomas, 2017 (Erin Hills), third round (9-under)

British Open

Mark Hayes, 1977 (Turnberry), second round (7-under)

Isao Aoki, 1980 (Muirfield), third round (8-under)

Greg Norman, 1986 (Turnberry), second round (7-under)

Paul Broadhurst, 1990 (St. Andrews), third round (9-under)

Jodie Mudd, 1991 (Birkdale), final round (7-under)

Nick Faldo, 1993 (St. George's), final round (7-under)

Payne Stewart, 1993 (St. George's), final round (7-under)

Rory McIlroy, 2010 (St. Andrews), first round (9-under)

Phil Mickelson, 2016 (Royal Troon), first round (8-under)

Henrik Stenson, 2016 (Royal Troon), final round (8-under)

PGA Championship

Bruce Crampton, 1975 (Firestone), second round (7-under)

Raymond Floyd, 1982 (Southern Hills), first round (7-under)

Gary Player, 1984 (Shoal Creek), second round (9-under)

Vijay Singh, 1993 (Inverness), second round (8-under)

Michael Bradley, 1995 (Riviera), first round (8-under)

Brad Faxon, 1995 (Riviera), final round (8-under)

Jose Maria Olazabal, 2000 (Valhalla), third round (9-under)

Mark O'Meara, 2001 (Atlanta Athletic Club), second round (7-under)

Thomas Bjorn, 2005 (Baltusrol), third round (7-under)

Tiger Woods, 2007 (Southern Hills), second round (7-under)

Steve Stricker, 2011 (Atlanta Athletic Club), first round (7-under)

Jason Dufner, 2013 (Oak Hill), second round (7-under)

Hiroshi Iwata, 2015 (Whistling Straits) second round (9-under)

Robert Streb, 2016 (Baltusrol), second round (7-under)

Read more on:    open championship  |  golf

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.