US Open

Els receives special exemption into US Open

2018-03-14 17:46
Ernie Els (AP)

Liberty Corner - Two-time US Open champion Ernie Els of South Africa, and 2003 US Open champion Jim Furyk of America have received special exemptions into the 118th US Open Championship.

The US Open will be conducted by the United States Golf Association (USGA) from June 14-17 at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club, in Southampton, New York.

READ: Els, Woods confirmed as Presidents Cup captains

Els, 48, won the 1994 US Open at Oakmont Country Club and the 1997 US Open at Congressional Country Club in Bethesda.

Els will compete in his 26th consecutive US Open, while Furyk will make his 24th Open start and his 23rd in a row.

"It's a thrill and I'm very grateful to the USGA," said Els, who is one of 18 players to win multiple US Opens and was the first international player to accomplish the feat since Alex Smith in 1910.

"Obviously, the US Open means a lot to me. This is kind of where it all started, you might say. Winning at Oakmont at the age of 24, as I've said before it was almost like a shock the way it happened. I still thought I had some steps to climb to get there.

"Then '97 was just a very, very special week, winning in the nation's capital, and that set me up for a really great year. For me there are so many wonderful memories from US Opens and it's exciting to be able to keep that story going."

In 1994 at Oakmont, Els defeated Loren Roberts and Colin Montgomerie in a playoff after the three players tied at 5-under-par 279 through 72 holes.

Els won the playoff on the 20th hole with a par after Roberts found a greenside bunker on the par-4 11th, leading to a bogey. Montgomerie was eliminated after shooting 78 for 18 holes while Els and Roberts both shot 74. Els became the youngest US Open winner since Jerry Pate in 1976.

Els survived a four-way battle to win his second US Open in 1997, finishing with five consecutive pars for a 72-hole score of 4-under 276. Montgomerie was one stroke behind, third-round leader Tom Lehman was two back and Jeff Maggert finished five strokes off the pace. All four were tied for the lead with nine holes to play on Congressional's Blue Course.

Els' 5-iron approach to within 18 feet on the par-4 17th helped separate him from the group.

In addition to their victories, Els and Furyk own exemplary US Open records.

Els, who was the runner-up to Tiger Woods in 2000 and was third in 2010, owns 10 top-10 finishes. Furyk is a three-time runner-up (2006, 2007, 2016) and has been among the top five finishers seven times.

Els and Furyk are the first players to receive special exemptions into the US Open since Retief Goosen in 2016.

Prior to Goosen, Tom Watson and Vijay Singh were awarded exemptions in 2010 at Pebble Beach Golf Links. Goosen missed the 36-hole cut at Oakmont Country Club, while Watson and Singh tied for 29th and 40th, respectively, in 2010.

Hale Irwin is the lone player to win the US Open playing on a special exemption, doing so in a memorable 19-hole playoff over Mike Donald in 1990 at Medinah Country Club to claim his third US Open title.

Read more on:    us open  |  ernie els  |  golf

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights


Which of the 6 SA golfers at this year's US Open will fare best?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.