US Open

Phil, Rose paired in US Open

2014-06-06 21:00
Phil Mickelson (AFP)

Pinehurst - Defending champion Justin Rose will be joined by Phil Mickelson for the first two rounds of next week's US Open while top-ranked Adam Scott begins alongside Masters champion Bubba Watson.

The US Golf Association released groupings Friday for the major showdown that begins Thursday at Pinehurst.

Reigning British Open champion Mickelson, a six-time US Open runner-up seeking a triumph that will complete a career Grand Slam, will join Rose, trying to become the first back-to-back US Open winner since Curtis Strange in 1988-89, and England's Matthew Fitzpatrick, last year's US Amateur winner, off the 10th tee at 13:51 (SA time) on Thursday.

Two groups behind them will be a trio of young rising stars -- Memorial winner Hideki Matsuyama of Japan and Americans Rickie Fowler and Jordan Spieth.

Scott, the 2013 Masters champion from Australia, and Watson, who won the green jacket at Augusta National in 2012 and this year, will start off the first tee at 19:25 on Thursday alongside South African Charl Schwartzel, the 2011 Masters winner.

The group behind them features the three British Open champions before current Claret Jug holder Mickelson - South Africans Ernie Els and Louis Oosthuizen and Northern Ireland's Darren Clarke.

Northern Ireland's Rory McIlroy starts off the first tee at 13:40.

Thursday alongside compatriot Graeme McDowell and American Webb Simpson, uniting the three past US Open winners before Rose.

Two Englishmen, Luke Donald and Paul Casey, are paired with Harris English, an American, off the 10th tee at 19:25 on Thursday, one group in front of a trio of US Open champions - South African Retief Goosen, American Lucas Glover and Australian Geoff Ogilvy.

Groupings released  by the US Golf Association for Thursday's first round of the 114th US Open championship at Pinehurst (USA unless noted, all times CAT):

First tee
12:45 - Daniel Berger, Brett Stegmaier, TBD
12:56 - Marcel Siem (GER), Brian Stuard, Andrea Pavan (ITA)
13:07 - Matt Every, Roberto Castro, Matt Jones (AUS)
13:18 - Sergio Garcia (ESP), Jason Day (AUS), Brandt Snedeker
13:29 - Henrik Stenson (SWE), Matt Kuchar, Lee Westwood (ENG)
13:40 - Webb Simpson, Rory McIlroy (NIR), Graeme McDowell (NIR)
13:51 - Ian Poulter (ENG), Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP), Thongchai Jaidee (THA)
14:02 - Nick Watney, Jonas Blixt (SWE), Joost Luiten (NED)
14:13 - Billy Horschel, Billy Hurley, Robert Allenby (AUS)
14:24 - Aaron Baddeley (AUS), Oliver Goss (AUS), Aron Price (AUS)
14:35 - Tom Lewis (ENG), TBD, Justin Thomas
14:46 - Robby Shelton, Matthew Dobyns, Brady Watt (AUS)
14:57 - Clayton Rask, Brian Campbell, Nicholas Mason
12:30 - Garth Mulroy (RSA), Steven Alker (NZL), Bobby Gates
18:41 - Niclas Fasth (SWE), Kiyoshi Miyazato (JPN), Hudson Swafford
18:52 - John Senden (AUS), Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL), Brooks Koepka
19:03 - Dustin Johnson, Jimmy Walker, Victor Dubuisson (FRA)
19:14 - Stewart Cink, Justin Leonard, Yang Yong-Eun (KOR)
19:25 - Bubba Watson, Adam Scott (AUS), Charl Schwartzel (RSA)
19:36 - Ernie Els (RSA), Darren Clarke (NIR), Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)
19:47 - Jason Dufner, Keegan Bradley, Martin Kaymer (GER)
19:58 - Hunter Mahan, Francesco Molinari (ITA), Jamie Donaldson (WAL)
20:09 - Bo Van Pelt, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (ESP), Noh Seung-Yul (KOR)
20:20 - Danny Willett (ENG), Cory Whitsett, Luke Guthrie
20:31 - Kevin Tway, James Renner, Chris Doak (SCO)
20:42 - Cody Gribble, Chris Thompson, Andrew Dorn

Tenth tee:
12:45 - Henrik Norlander (SWE), Lucas Bjerregaard DEN), Rob Oppenheim
12:56 - Chad Collins, Lee Kyoung-Hoon (KOR), Kevin Kisner
13:07 - Erik Compton, Pablo Larrazabal (ESP), Scott Langley
13:18 - Patrick Reed, Ryan Moore, TBD
13:29 - Boo Weekley, DA Points, Stephen Gallacher (SCO)
13:40 - Zach Johnson, Angel Cabrera (ARG), David Toms
13:51 - Justin Rose (ENG), Matthew Fitzpatrick (ENG), Phil Mickelson
14:02 - Chris Kirk, Russell Henley, Brendon Todd
14:13 - Jordan Spieth, Hideki Matsuyama (JPN), Rickie Fowler
14:24 - Kenny Perry, Jeff Maggert, Kevin Sutherland
14:35 - Liang Wen-Chong (CHN), Maximilian Kieffer (GER), Shiv Kapur (IND)
14:46 - Smylie Kaufman, Maverick McNealy, TBD
14:57 - Anthony Broussard, Will Grimmer, Nicholas Lindheim
18:30 - Alex Cejka (GER), Graeme Storm (ENG), David Oh
18:41 - Oliver Fisher (ENG), Casey Wittenberg, Andres Echavarria (COL)
18:52 - Joe Ogilvie, Mark Wilson, Ken Duke
19:03 - Jim Furyk, Steve Stricker, Bill Haas
19:14 - Brendon De Jonge (ZIM), Kevin Stadler, Shane Lowry (IRL)
19:25 - Luke Donald (ENG), Harris English, Paul Casey (ENG)
19:36 - JB Holmes, Gary Woodland, Graham DeLaet (CAN)
19:47 - Retief Goosen (RSA), Geoff Ogilvy (AUS), Lucas Glover
19:58 - TBD, Kim Hyung-Sung (KOR), Toru Taniguchi (JPN)
20:09 - Ryan Palmer, Rod Pampling (AUS), Kevin Streelman
20:20 - Azuma Yano (JPN), Ryan Blaum, David Gossett
20:31 - Simon Griffiths (ENG), Fran Quinn, Donald Constable
20:42 - Hunter Stewart, Jason Millard, Zac Blair

Read more on:    pga tour  |  us open  |  justin rose  |  phil mickelson  |  golf


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


Which of the 6 SA golfers at this year's US Open will fare best?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.