Sunshine Tour

Top professionals returning to Leopard Creek

2019-10-21 12:32
Alfred Dunhill Championship (Supplied)
Alfred Dunhill Championship (Supplied)

Cape Town - The magnificent Leopard Creek Country Club will once again welcome the finest professionals from the Sunshine Tour and European Tour for the 2019 Alfred Dunhill Championship from November 28 to December 1, 2019.

The Alfred Dunhill Championship, co-sanctioned by both the Sunshine Tour and European Tour, will make for a thrilling finale to the South African golf year as it follows the Nedbank Golf Challenge hosted by Gary Player as the final tournament played on South African fairways in 2019.

And the prestigious tournament also tees off the European Tour’s new 2020 season.

Since 2000 the Alfred Dunhill Championship has occupied a premier place in world golf with a list of past champions including Major winners and former world number ones in Adam Scott, Justin Rose, Charl Schwartzel and Ernie Els.

Schwartzel holds the record for the most Alfred Dunhill Championship titles of four, while fellow South African Branden Grace remains the only player to have won both the Alfred Dunhill Championship and its partner tournament, the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship in Scotland.

American David Lipsky won the 2018 Alfred Dunhill Championship by two strokes on his debut in the tournament, thereby claiming his second European Tour title.

This year the Alfred Dunhill Championship will also be following the lead of the Open Championship in radically reducing single-use plastic at the tournament.

A new partnership with Bluewater, Refill Co and Consol, the first of its kind on the Sunshine Tour, will encourage fans and golfers to purchase Alfred Dunhill Championship-branded glass bottles at the course, or bring their own reusable bottles, which they can refill free of charge at various points on the course.


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.