Sunshine Tour

Rookie Albertse in 4-way tie for lead at Mount Edgecombe

2018-10-24 18:08
Louis Albertse
Louis Albertse (Gallo Images)

Durban - Qualifying School graduate Louis Albertse took advantage of his knowledge of the Woods layout at Mount Edgecombe and played himself into a four-way tie for the lead as he signed for an impressive five-under-par 65 in the opening round of the Sibaya Challenge on Wednesday.

Starting from the first tee, Albertse's front nine was characterised by three birdies - on the par-five third hole, the fifth hole which is also a par-five and another on the sixth - and not a single bogey as he turned in 32. The same number of birdies made it onto his card on the homeward stretch, only to be spoilt by the dropped shot on the 16th.

"I have played this golf course before as an amateur," he declared.

"And I started well today. The putter was working with me on the first five holes and that gave me a bit of confidence keep going. But, being a Natal boy, it’s nice to perform like this here. My putter was playing along today and I made about 25 to 27 putts, so I am happy."

Also shooting 65s in round one was veteran Jean Hugo, Jake Redman whose game seems to be improving weekly and CJ du Plessis.

Hugo's round was the most eventful of the four players' rounds. Starting from the 10th tee, he went birdie, birdie and bogey in his opening three holes.

Two pars later, however, he made further gains, picking up an important birdie on the par-three 15th. A par on the next hole was quickly followed by two more birdies to turn in 31.

Birdies on his 10th, 14th and 17th holes were accompanied by bogeys on his 11th and 13th holes but he will not be too dissatisfied with such a start to a tournament. Redman and Du Plessis also made six birdies each and both had a bogey each on their card at the end of the round.

A single shot back of the leaders, Jake Roos, the much-travelled Hennie Otto and the English duo of Luke Joy and Todd Clements share the fifth spot after day one in Durban.

Early pace-setter Ryan Cairns' three-under-par 67 put him in a share of the ninth position with Rhys West, Trevor Fisher Jnr, Breyten Meyer, Peter Karmis, Merrick Bremner, Ockie Strydom, Vaughn Groenewald and qualifying school winner Thriston Lawrence. 


65 - Louis Albertse, Jean Hugo, Jake Redman, CJ du Plessis

66 - Jake Roos, Hennie Otto, Luke Joy, Todd Clements

67 - Ryan Cairns, Rhys West, Trevor Fisher Jnr, Breyten Meyer, Peter Karmis, Merrick Bremner, Ockie Strydom, Vaughn Groenewald, Thriston Lawrence

68 - Erhard Lambrechts, Wayne Stroebel, Tyrone Ferreira, Daniel van Tonder, Michael Palmer, Herman Loubser, Garth Mulroy, Adilson Da Silva, Ulrich van den Berg, Louis de Jager, Luke Mayo, James Kamte

69 - Altaaf Bux, Jacques P de Villiers, Colin Nel, Alex Haindl, Keenan Davidse, Neil Schietekat, Jason Smith, Jaco Prinsloo, Keelan Africa, Jean-Paul Strydom, Wallie Coetsee, Pieter Moolman, Stephen Ferreira, Rhys Enoch, Christiaan Basson

70 - Theunis Bezuidenhout, Andrew Odoh, Anton Haig, Jacques Blaauw, Dawie Van der Walt, Steven Lecuyer, Aubrey Beckley, Marc Cayeux, Jade Buitendag, Philip Geerts

71 - Marthin Scheepers, Coert Groenewald, Jonathan Agren, Scott Campbell, Philip Eriksson, Fredrik From, Heinrich Bruiners, William Weidner, Yubin Jung, Thabang Simon, Estiaan Conradie, Tyrone Ryan, Martin Rohwer, Teaghan Gauche

72 - Teboho Sefatsa, Andre Nel, Chris Cannon, Madalitso Muthiya, JJ Senekal, Chris Swanepoel, Francois Coetzee, Omar Sandys, Luke Jerling, Makhetha Mazibuko, Kyle McClatchie, Jaco Ahlers, Bryce Easton, Doug McGuigan, Wynand Dingle, Duane Keun, Allan Versfeld

73 - Ryan Tipping, Kevin Stone, Michael Hollick, Callum Mowat, Joe Nawanga, Allister de Kock, Andrew Curlewis, Rourke van der Spuy

74 - Basil Wright, Jared Harvey, Derick Petersen, Andrew van der Knaap, Ruan Conradie, Combrinck Smit, Keith Horne, Desne Van Den Bergh, Roberto Lupini

75 - Toto Thimba, Jacquin Hess, Samba Niang, Thanda Mavundla, Ruan de Smidt, Titch Moore, Sipho Bujela, Mohammad Rauf Mandhu

76 - Lindani Ndwandwe, David McIntyre, Fezekile Kana, Phumlani Maluka, Bennie van der Merwe, Bradford Vaughan

77 - Siyanda Mwandla, Gideon van der Vyver

78 - Adriel Poonan, Benjamin Follett-Smith, Kayyam Rauf Mandhu

79 - Nisharlan Sewshanker, Jason Viljoen

80 - Luke Trocado

Read more on:    sunshine tour  |  louis albertse  |  golf

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.