Sunshine Tour

De Jager, Murless lead Zim Open

2016-04-15 09:52
Mark Murless (File)

Harare - The morning conditions at Royal Harare Golf Club couldn’t have been more favourable in round one of the Zimbabwe Open as Mark Murless and Louis de Jager took full advantage carding seven-under-par 65s to take the clubhouse lead.

With an outward nine of two-under-par, Murless then ripped through his homeward nine carding five further birdies and no bogeys, to share the lead alongside De Jager. It was a special round from Murless, who only needed 22 putts on the day.

He said, “I got out to a slow start, but on the back-nine, we set it alight a little. I putted really well, you know 22 putts is probably my record so I’m really happy with that.”

As for De Jager, a good start to his outward nine was followed up by a solid display on his homeward nine. He said, “I started well making four birdies going out and I just kept going on the next nine.”

Both players currently lie two shots better off than Vaughn Groenewald, Merrick Bremner and Ruan de Smidt who opened their accounts with five-under-par 67s, to share third place.

As was the case with the two leaders, Groenewald found the always-pure greens at Royal Harare Golf Club a pleasure. He said, “The putter was working nicely. I was seeing the lines and knocking them in. I could have made two more bogeys out there but I saved them with two good putts.”

The story of the day however, belonged to Marc Cayeux of Zimbabwe. Cayeux wept on Thursday after he completed his first competitive round on the Sunshine Tour after more than five years away from the game brought on by a head-on collision with a police truck in 2010. He carded a two-under-par 70 in his opening round.

“It’s been five-and-a-half years of trying to get back to this sort of level,” said Cayeux afterwards. “It was quite a nerve-wracking first tee shot and luckily I found the middle of the clubface. I hit it on the green and I three-putted. So I said to myself the bogey would get rid of the nerves, and there are 17 holes to try and make birdies.”

Defending champion Dean Burmester will need three good rounds if he to catch up with the good scoring after carding a respectable two-under-par 70, leaving him five off the pace.


65 - Louis de Jager (RSA), Mark Murless (RSA)

67 - Merrick Bremner (RSA), Vaughn Groenewald (RSA), Ruan de Smidt (RSA)

68 - Jacques Kruyswijk (RSA), Danie van Tonder (RSA), Jacques Blaauw (RSA)

69 - Jack Harrison (ENG), Stephen Ferreira (POR), Allan Versfeld (RSA), Steven Ferreira (RSA), Christiaan Basson (RSA),Doug McGuigan (SCO), Jason Froneman (RSA), Teaghan Gauche (RSA), Bryce Easton (RSA), Steve Surry (ENG),Lyle Rowe (RSA), Lindani Ndwandwe (RSA)

70 - Bryce McCabe (RSA), Dayne Moore (ZAM), Le Roux Ferreira (RSA), Dean Burmester (RSA), Marc Cayeux (ZIM),Toto Thimba (Jnr), David Amm (ZIM) (AMA), Mark Williams (ZIM), Madalitso Muthiya (ZAM), Tyrone Mordt (RSA),Zachary Portemont (USA)

71 - Jacquin Hess (RSA), Ryan Cairns (ZIM), Jaco Prinsloo (RSA), Zander Lombard (RSA), Theunis Spangenberg (RSA),Daniel Greene (RSA), Roux Jeffery (NAM), Alexander Knappe (GER), Jonathan Agren (SWE), Kevin Rundle (RSA),Scott Vincent (ZIM), Jason Viljoen (RSA)

72 - Werner van Wyk (RSA), Ruan Huysamen (NAM), Martin Rominger (SUI), Breyten Meyer (RSA), Jbe' Kruger (RSA),Tyrone Ferreira (RSA), Andre de Decker (RSA), Matthew Carvell (RSA), James Kamte (RSA), Andrew Odoh (NGA),Oliver Bekker (RSA), Conway Kunneke (RSA), Dylan Frittelli (RSA), Grant Veenstra (RSA), Hennie du Plessis (RSA)

73 - Trainos Muradzikwa (ZIM), Jason Diab (RSA), Andrew Curlewis (RSA), Jared Harvey (RSA), Gary Thompson (ZIM),Kieran Vincent (ZIM) (AMA), JJ Senekal (RSA), Armandt Scholtz (RSA), Christiaan Bezuidenhout (RSA), Neil Schietekat (RSA),Russel Franz (RSA), Divan Gerber (RSA)

74 - JC Ritchie (RSA), Charl Coetzee (RSA), Justin Harding (RSA), Jake Redman (RSA), Jeff Inglis (ENG), Ruan Pretorius (RSA),Gert Myburgh (RSA), Irvin Mazibuko (RSA), Arthur Horne (SWZ), Nyasha Muyambo (ZIM), Bryandrew Roelofsz (RSA),Drikus van der Walt (RSA), Christofer Blomstrand (SWE), Jaco Ahlers (RSA), Thanda Mavundla (RSA), Colin Nel (RSA),Ockie Strydom (RSA), Jeff Hopkins (IRL)

75 - Wayne Stroebel (RSA), TC Charamba (ZIM), Anthony Michael (RSA), Ryan Tipping (RSA), Bradford Vaughan (RSA),Henry Featherstone (ENG), Chris Swanepoel (RSA), Brett Liddle (RSA), Bryce Bibby (RSA), Callum Mowat (RSA),Biggie Chibvuri (ZIM), Divan van den Heever (RSA), Rourke van der Spuy (RSA), Ryan Lang (ZIM), Calvin Pearson (RSA)

76 - Derick Petersen (RSA), Adilson Da Silva (BRA), Justin Kersten (ZIM) (AMA), Andrew Georgiou (CYP),Mohammad Rauf Mandhu (ZIM), Erik van Rooyen (RSA), Wallie Coetsee (RSA), Bryn Flanagan (RSA), Etienne Bond (RSA),Greg Bentley (ZIM)

77 - Omar Sandys (RSA), Werner van Niekerk (RSA), Rhys West (RSA), Derik Ferreira (RSA)

78 - Day Muyambo (ZIM), Brian Gondo (ZIM), William Lake (ZIM), Stuart Krogg (ZIM) (AMA), Cosmas Kingsley Mufaya (ZAM),Pride Sembo (ZIM), Heinrich Bruiners (RSA), CJ du Plessis (RSA), Alex Haindl (RSA)

79 - PH McIntyre (RSA), MJ Viljoen (RSA), Stefan Engell Andersen (KEN), Benard Magaso (ZIM), Dale Howie (ZIM),Robson Saurombe (ZIM), Michael Hollick (RSA), Titch Moore (RSA)

80 - Patrick Mwendapole (ZAM), Neal Herman (RSA), John Milazi (ZIM) (AMA), Nixon Masunga (ZIM), Julius Kamalizeni (ZIM),Rasheed Mohamed (ZIM) (AMA), Dwayne Basson (RSA), Stuart Smith (BOT)

81 - Shane Granger (BOT), Roy Da Costa (POR), Simon Murungweni (ZIM), Thembelani Vundla (ZIM)

82 - Tanaka Mhere (ZIM) (AMA), Lyford Yadyo (ZIM), Francois Coetzee (RSA), Richard Chitakatira (ZIM), Morne Buys (RSA)

83 - Teboho Sefatsa (RSA), Dennis Anguyo (UGA), Leorin Pillay (RSA), Phillip Tshuma (ZIM)

86 - Anyway Katembenuka (ZIM)

Read more on:    sunshine tour  |  golf


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.