Sunshine Tour

Fisher confirmed for Sun City

2014-11-04 11:15
Ross Fisher (Gallo Images)

Sun City - Sunshine Tour Order of Merit winner England's Ross Fisher is the latest player to have confirmed his place at this year's Nedbank Golf Challenge, tournament director Alastair Roper said on Tuesday.

Fisher is no stranger to South African conditions. Following a third place tie at the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek in November last year, and a tenth place tie at the Joburg Open in February, his win at the Tshwane Open a couple of weeks later took him to the top of the Sunshine Tour money list for 2014.

He has also made two previous appearances at the Sun City event, finishing third in 2009 and fifth in 2010.

Also confirmed in the line up for the $6.5 million (approx R71.5m) tournament are members of the victorious European Ryder Cup team as well as two Major winners and three former world number ones.

They will tee it up at the Gary Player Golf Course from December 4-7 in the event co-sanctioned by the European Tour and the Sunshine Tour.

The European Ryder Cup stars include Thomas Bjorn, Martin Kaymer, Victor Dubuisson, Jamie Donaldson, Stephen Gallacher and Lee Westwood.

Spain’s Miguel Angel Jiminez, who was a vice-captain on the team, is also in the field.

Bjorn is back to defend the title he won in spectacular fashion last year, claiming a two-stroke victory at the age of 42.

Westwood is making his 10th appearance at the Sun City event and returns as a back-to-back winner of “Africa’s Major” in 2010 and 2011.

Kaymer is hoping to add to his 2012 triumph in the Nedbank Golf Challenge, and the 2014 US Open champion and former world number one is joined by other former world number ones in Westwood and Luke Donald.

Charl Schwartzel, the 2011 Masters champion, leads the South Africans in the group, which includes 2013 Sunshine Tour Order of Merit winner Dawie van der Walt.

Thai golf legend Thongchai Jaidee will be joined in the field by his younger counterpart Kiradech Aphibarnrat, who qualified by virtue of his first-place finish on the 2013 Asian Tour Order of Merit.

Confirmed players: Thomas Bjorn (Denmark), Martin Kaymer (Germany), Lee Westwood (England), Charl Schwartzel (South Africa), Victor Dubuisson (France), Jamie Donaldson (Wales), Stephen Gallacher (Scotland), Dawie van der Walt (South Africa), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Thailand), Luke Donald (England), Miguel Angel Jiminez (Spain), Ross Fisher (England) and Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand).

Read more on:    ross fisher  |  golf

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.