Sunshine Tour

Da Silva leads at Africa Open

2013-02-15 10:17
Adilson Da Silva (File)
East London - Brazilian Adilson da Silva twice holed chips on Friday en route to a 10-under-par 62 and a four-stroke first-round lead in the Africa Open.

Da Silva was among a large group of golfers unable to complete their first round at East London Golf Club on Thursday because of a three-hour delay due to winds that reached 30 kilometres an hour.

Overnight clubhouse leader Jaco van Zyl of South Africa retained second place on 66 and John Parry of England held third spot after carding a 68 over the par-72, 6,066-metre course that overlooks the Indian Ocean.

Those on 69 include South Africans Oliver Bekker, Wallie Coetzee, Andrew Curlewis, Derik Ferreira, Darren Fichardt and James Kingston, Ignacio Garrido of Spain, Tommy Fleetwood of England, Michael Jonzon of Sweden, Mark Tullo of Chile and Phillip Price of Wales.

South Africa-based Da Silva birdied five of his first six holes Thursday and was six under after eight holes when bad light stopped play just before 1900 local time.

He birdied the ninth when play resumed early Friday, picked up an eagle on the 15th and back-to-back birdies completed a memorable round over a short course, whose chief defences are thick bush bordering fairways, and the wind.

South African Major winners Louis Oosthuizen (twice) and Charl Schwartzel won previous editions of the Africa Open since it was co-sanctioned by the European Tour and Sunshine Tour.

But neither entered the championship this year as they are preparing for the World Golf Championship-Accenture Match Play Championship in Dove Mountain, Arizona, next week.

Fellow South Africans Richard Sterne, winner of the Joburg Open last weekend, George Coetzee and Branden Grace are absent for the same reason, raising the prospect of a first foreign winner of the Africa Open.

First round scores at the Africa Open:
62 - Adilson Da Silva (BRA)

66 - Jaco Van Zyl

68 - John Parry (ENG)

69 - Oliver Bekker, Ignacio Garrido (ESP), Michael Jonzon (SWE), James Kingston, Darren Fichardt, Tommy Fleetwood (ENG), Mark Tullo (CHI), Wallie Coetsee, Derik Ferreira, Andrew Curlewis, Phillip Price (WAL)

70 - Bjorn Akesson (SWE), Tjaart van der Walt, Gregory Bourdy (FRA), Andy Sullivan (ENG), Daniel Greene, Simon Wakefield (ENG), David Higgins (IRL), Mikko Korhonen (FIN), Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

71 - Andrew Georgiou, Tyrone Mordt, Ulrich van den Berg, Seve Benson (ENG), Scott Arnold (AUS), Morten Orum Madsen (DEN), Brett Rumford (AUS), Ricardo Santos (POR), Alessandro Tadini (ITA), Vaughn Groenewald, Jaco Ahlers, Ryan Strauss, Maximilian Kieffer (GER), Anthony Michael

72 - Garth Mulroy, Alexandre Kaleka (FRA), Christiaan Basson, Matteo Delpodio (ITA), Louis de Jager, Lasse Jensen(DEN), Andreas Harto (DEN), Anthony Snobeck (FRA), Espen Kofstad (NOR), Justin Walters, Jake Roos, Merrick Bremner, Trevor Fisher Jnr, Robert-Jan Derksen (NED), Hendrik Buhrmann, Niclas Fasth (SWE), Joel Sjoholm (SWE), James Morrison (ENG), Ockie Strydom

73 - Chris Paisley (ENG), Alexander Levy (FRA), Lorenzo Gagli (ITA), Warren Abery, Charl Coetzee, Gregory Havret (FRA), Bryce Easton, Mikael Lundberg(SWE), Bradford Vaughan, Jorge Campillo (ESP), Peter Erofejeff (FIN), Ross McGowan (ENG), Jacques Blaauw, Danie van Tonder, Mark Williams, Jbe' Kruger, Colin Nel, Magnus A Carlsson (SWE)

74 - Lyle Rowe, Teboho Sefatsa, Lee Slattery (ENG), Daniel Gaunt (AUS), Dawie Van der Walt, Estanislao Goya (ARG), Tyrone Ferreira, Joost Luiten (NED), Fredrik Andersson Hed (SWE), Thomas Aiken, Peter Whiteford(SCO), Gareth Maybin (NIR), Desvonde Botes, James Busby (ENG), Aron Zemmer (ITA), Joshua Cunliffe, Grant Muller, Robert Coles (ENG), Peter Hedblom (SWE), Titch Moore, Oscar Floren (SWE), David Drysdale (SCO), Romain Wattel (FRA), Neil Schietekat, James Kamte, Christian Cevaer (FRA), Matthew Baldwin (ENG), Christopher Doak (SCO), Michael Hollick

75 - Martin du Toit, Michiel Bothma, Toto Thimba (Jnr), Robert Rock (ENG), Omar Sandys, Allan Versfeld, Damien McGrane (IRL), Theunis Spangenberg, Carlos Del Moral (ESP), Andrew Marshall (ENG), Sam Little (ENG), Justin Harding, Tom Lewis (ENG), Callum Macaulay (SCO)

76 - Eduardo de la Riva (ESP), John Moore (USA), JB Hansen (DEN), Brandon Pieters, Matthew Carvell, Ruan de Smidt, Shaun Norris, Daniel Brooks (ENG), Ryan Cairns (ZIM), Louis Calitz, Craig Lee (SCO), PH McIntyre, Keith Horne, Dean Burmester

77 - Chris Swanepoel, Keenan Davidse, JG Claassen, Eddie Pepperell (ENG), Matthew Nixon (ENG), Sipho Bujela, Heinrich Bruiners, Lindani Ndwandwe, Alpheus Kelapile
78 - S S P Chowrasia (IND), Doug McGuigan, Divan van den Heever, Moritz Lampert (GER), Jared Harvey

79 - Ryan Thompson, Joakim Lagergren (SWE), Scott Henry (SCO)

80 - Graeme Storm (ENG), Matthew Southgate (ENG), Nick Dougherty (ENG)

81 - Pieter Moolman, Jean Hugo

82 - Richard McEvoy (ENG)

83 - Chris Lloyd (ENG)

85 - Alex Haindl


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.