Schwartzel paired with Bradley

2012-04-03 18:59

Augusta - Tiger Woods will be paired with first-time Augusta National starter Bae Sang-Moon of South Korea and Spanish veteran Miguel Angel Jimenez in the first two rounds of the 76th Masters.

The pairings announced on Tuesday afternoon by Augusta National did not include American Dustin Johnson, who withdrew because of an unspecified injury, leaving a field of 96 to compete for the green jacket given to every Masters champion.

World No 7 Woods, a 14-time major champion chasing the all-time major win record of 18 set by Jack Nicklaus, snapped a two-and-a-half year win drought last month at Bay Hill but has not won a major championship since the 2008 US Open.

The Woods group will tee off at 10:35 (15:35 GMT)) on Thursday in the opening round and 13:42 on Friday in the penultimate pairing for round two.

Defending champion Charl Schwartzel of South Africa will tee off in the trio just before Woods, joining US amateur Kelly Kraft and 2011 PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley in starting 11 minutes ahead of Woods.

Just behind Woods on the first two days will be another high-profile trio featuring World No 1 Luke Donald of England with American Nick Watney and Italy's Francesco Molinari.

Reigning US Open champion Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland will be in Thursday's penultimate group at 13:42, the World No 2 being joined by past Masters winner Angel Cabrera of Argentina and American Bubba Watson.

Just behind McIlroy's group will be three-time Masters champion Phil Mickelson, American Hunter Mahan and Sweden's Peter Hanson.

Just ahead of McIlroy's group are Spain's Sergio Garcia, South Korean KJ Choi and American David Toms while the trio ahead of that group features Japan's Ryo Ishikawa, American Fred Couples and reigning British Open champion Darren Clarke of Northern Ireland.

South Africa's Louis Oosthuizen was paired with America's Mark Wilson and Norhtern Ireland's Graeme McDowell.

Trevor Immelman, the 2008 winner, was grouped with America's Ricky Fowler and England's Justin Rose, while Tim Clark drew the American duo of Craig Stadler and Brendan Steel.

Rory Sabbatini was grouped with America's Scott Stallings and Denmark's Thomas Bjorn.

Pairings for Thursday's opening round of the 76th Masters golf tournament at the par-72 Augusta National Golf Club (all times local, five hours off GMT):

7:50 a.m. - Craig Stadler (USA), Brendan Steele (USA), Tim Clark (RSA)

8:01 - Jose Maria Olazabal (ESP), Robert Garrigus (USA), Randal Lewis (USA)

8:12 - Larry Mize (USA), Paul Lawrie (SCO), Anders Hansen (DEN)

8:23 - Ross Fisher (ENG), Ryan Palmer (USA), Harrison Frazar (USA)

8:34 - Ben Crenshaw (USA), Robert Karlsson (SWE), Bryden Macpherson (AUS)

8:45 - Adam Scott (AUS), Bo Van Pelt (USA), Martin Kaymer (GER)

8:56 - Steve Stricker (USA), Padraig Harrington (IRE), Stewart Cink (USA)

9:07 - Aaron Baddeley (AUS), Kim Kyung-Tae (KOR), Lucas Glover (USA)

9:18 - Kyle Stanley (USA), Jason Day (AUS), Bill Haas (USA)

9:29 - Trevor Immelman (RSA), Rickie Fowler (USA), Justin Rose (ENG)

9:40 - Tom Watson (USA), Johnson Wagner (USA), Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

9:51 - Open

10:02 - Matt Kuchar (USA), Geoff Ogilvy (AUS), Yang Yong-Eun (KOR)

10:13 - Gary Woodland (USA), Henrik Stenson (SWE), Alvaro Quiros (ESP)

10:24 - Charl Schwartzel (RSA), Keegan Bradley (USA), Kelly Kraft (USA)

10:35 - Tiger Woods (USA), Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP), Bae Sang-Moon (KOR)

10:46 - Luke Donald (ENG), Francesco Molinari (ITA), Nick Watney (USA)

10:57 - Scott Verplank (USA), Sean O'Hair (USA), Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (ESP)

11:08 - Mark O'Meara (USA), Chez Reavie (USA), Martin Laird (SCO)

11:19 - Sandy Lyle (SCO), Simon Dyson (ENG), Corbin Mills (USA)

11:30 - Ian Woosnam (WAL), Edoardo Molinari (ITA), Kevin Chappell (USA)

11:41 - Louis Oosthuizen (RSA), Mark Wilson (USA), Graeme McDowell (NIR)

11:52 - Zach Johnson (USA), Ian Poulter (ENG), Patrick Cantlay (USA)

12:03 p.m. - Open

12:14 - Kevin Na (USA), Fredrik Jacobson (SWE), Ben Crane (USA)

12:25 - John Senden (AUS), Jonathan Byrd (USA), Paul Casey (ENG)

12:36 - Bernhard Langer (GER), Jason Dufner (USA), Charles Howell (USA)

12:47 - Mike Weir (CAN), Brandt Snedeker (USA), Webb Simpson (USA)

12:58 - Vijay Singh (FIJ), Lee Westwood (ENG), Jim Furyk (USA)

1:09 - Thomas Bjorn (DEN), Scott Stallings (USA), Rory Sabbatini (RSA)

1:20 - Fred Couples (USA), Darren Clarke (NIR), Ryo Ishikawa (JPN)

1:31 - David Toms (USA), K.J. Choi (KOR), Sergio Garcia (ESP)

1:42 - Angel Cabrera (ARG), Rory McIlroy (NIR), Bubba Watson (USA)

1:53 - Phil Mickelson (USA), Hunter Mahan (USA), Peter Hanson (SWE)