Charl shines at awards evening

2012-01-10 22:42

Johannebsurg - Charl Schwartzel was the big winner, walking away with two prizes, at the annual Sunshine Tour golf awards for 2011 held in Johannesburg on Tuesday evening.

The Masters and Joburg Open champion won the Sunshine tour commissioners award for his contribution to South African golf throughout the year.

He was also awarded honourary life membership to the Sunshine tour, along with fellow South African major winners, Louis Oosthuizen and Trevor Immelman.

The other accolade went to Garth Mulroy who picked up the Sid Brews award for claiming the order of merit with earnings of R3,4 million.

Rookie of the year went to to 20-year-old Allan Versfeld as he ended in 16th position on the money-list, with just under R600 000 in earnings in his debut season.

Branden Grace with a scoring average of 69.41, collected the lowest stroke average award, while Jean Hugo was voted players' player of the year.

George Coetzee was awarded the golf writers player award, by the golfing media, for his all-round contribution to South African golf for 2011.

Louis Calitz was the top money winner on the secondary tour and was awarded the Ernie Els challenge tour trophy.

2011 Sunshine Tour awards:

Honourary life membership: Louis Oosthuizen, Trevor Immelmann, Charl Schwartzel

Rookie of the year: Allan Versfeld

Stroke average award: Branden Grace

Golf writers award: George Coetzee

Sid Brews trophy for order of merit: Garth Mulroy

Players' player of the year award: Jean Hugo

Big easy tour order of merit winner: Louis Calitz

Commissioners award for contribution to SA golf in 2011: Charl Schwartzel


  • martin.oosthuyzen - 2012-01-11 07:38

    Lekker vir Charl!

  • pages:
  • 1