Royal Troon to host 2016 Open

2012-06-20 15:44

Glasgow - The 2016 British Open will be staged at Royal Troon in Scotland, it was confirmed on Wednesday.

The Ayrshire course will be hosting the Open for the ninth time and the first since 2004 when America's Todd Hamilton beat South Africa's Ernie Els in a playoff.

Other Open winners at Royal Troon are Arthur Havers (1923), Bobby Locke (1950), Arnold Palmer (1962), Tom Weiskopf (1973), Tom Watson (1982), Mark Calcavecchia (1989) and Justin Leonard (1997).

South Ayrshire Council leader Bill McIntosh said: "This is great news - not just for Troon, but for the whole of Ayrshire.

"As well as giving us a chance to showcase the fantastic golf in this area, our stunning scenery, culture and heritage, The Open will also bring a terrific economic boost with a 100 million benefit to its host economy.

"This is vital investment for our area that will help create a lasting and positive legacy for generations to come."

The selection of Royal Troon means the Open - one of golf's four major titles - will be held in Scotland three times in four years.

Royal Lytham in northwest England will host the Open next month before it heads to Muirfield in Scotland in 2013, then onto Hoylake's Royal Liverpool in 2014 and the famous Scottish course at St Andrews in 2015.