PGA Tour

Stroud rallies late to win Barracuda Championship

2017-08-07 06:57
Chris Stroud (Getty)

Los Angeles - American Chris Stroud won the PGA Tour's Barracuda Championship on Sunday, beating Richy Werenski and Greg Owen in a three-man playoff. 

Stroud posted an eagle on the final hole of regulation to get into the playoff and record his first win in 289 PGA Tour events. 

"To finally get one is unbelievable," Stroud said. "I've putted with 15 different putters in the last two weeks and went back to an old one." 

"The putts started going in, and that was the only difference this week." 

Stroud, Werenski and England's Owen finished with 44 points after regulation of the event at the Montreaux Golf and Country Club in Reno, Nevada. 

The tournament used the Modified Stableford system. Rather than counting the total number of strokes taken, as in stroke play, Stableford scoring involves scoring points based on the number of strokes taken at each hole. The format awards eight points for an albatross, five for eagle, two for birdie, zero for par, and subtracts a point for a bogey and three for double bogey or worse.

Stroud scored a tournament-best 20 points in the final round of the event. He carded an eagle, nine birdies and three bogeys in his 18 holes on Sunday. 

Owen entered the final round with a five-point lead, but he was eliminated on the first extra hole after making par while both Werenski and Stroud made birdies. 

Werenski was eliminated at the second extra hole after he made a par as Stroud scored another birdie.

Leading point totals after Sunday's final round of the PGA Barracuda Championship, which uses a Modified Stableford scoring system that awards eight points for an albatross, five for an eagle, two for a birdie, zero for par, minus one for a bogey and minus three for any worse score (x-won at 2nd playoff hole; USA unless noted):

44 - x-Chris Stroud 9-3-12-20, Richy Werenski 11-15-4-14, Greg Owen (ENG) 9-14-14-7

41 - Tom Hoge 11-9-10-11, Stuart Appleby (AUS) 14-10-8-9

40 - Robert Garrigus 7-11-9-13, Derek Fathauer 7-14-11-8

39 - Sam Saunders 10-4-13-12

38 - Ryan Palmer 13-2-6-17, Patton Kizzire 13-6-10-9

37 - Martin Flores 6-8-11-12, Ben Crane 4-12-11-10, Dicky Pride 13-10-7-7

36 - Ben Martin 13-10-7-6

35 - Blayne Barber 5-11-9-10

34 - Ricky Barnes 7-9-15-3

33 - Rory Sabbatini (RSA) 8-4-13-8

Read more on:    cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.