PGA Tour

Louis rules himself out of PGA

2013-07-30 20:00
Louis Oosthuizen (Getty Images)
Jupiter - South African Louis Oosthuizen, the 2010 British Open champion, said Tuesday he will be sidelined for about two months because of neck, back and hip injuries.

Oosthuizen withdrew from this year's British Open two weeks ago after eight holes because of the nagging injuries.

He will also miss this week's World Golf Championships Bridgestone Invitational and next week's PGA Championship, the final major event of the year.

"It is obviously very disappointing to miss out on playing in such prestigious tournaments," said Oosthuizen in a posting on his Facebook page.

"But these are injuries that I have been managing for most of the season. It is important that I now give myself the proper time to recover."

Oosthuizen said he hopes to return at the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship in late September, which could put him in the mix for the Presidents Cup matches in early October between US and an Internationals group of non-European talent at Muirfield Village in Columbus, Ohio.

The field (154 players) who have qualified for the 95th PGA Championship at Oak Hill Country Club (two spots are being held for the winners of the Bridgestone Invitational and Reno-Tahoe Open if they are not already eligible):

PGA CHAMPIONSHIP WINNERS: Rory McIlroy, Keegan Bradley, Martin Kaymer, Y.E. Yang, Padraig Harrington, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Vijay Singh, Shaun Micheel, Rich Beem, David Toms, Davis Love III, Mark Brooks.

MASTERS CHAMPIONS (5 years): Adam Scott, Bubba Watson, Charl Schwartzel, Angel Cabrera.

U.S. OPEN CHAMPIONS (5 years): Justin Rose, Webb Simpson, Graeme McDowell, Lucas Glover.

BRITISH OPEN CHAMPIONS (5 years): Ernie Els, Darren Clarke, Stewart Cink.

2012 SENIOR PGA CHAMPION: Kohki Idoki.

TOP 15 AND TIES FROM 2012 PGA CHAMPIONSHIP: David Lynn, Ian Poulter, Carl Pettersson, Jamie Donaldson, Peter Hanson, Steve Stricker, Ben Curtis, Tim Clark, Geoff Ogilvy.

TOP 20 FROM 2013 PGA NATIONAL PROFESSIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP: J.C. Anderson, Danny Balin, Mark Brown, Caine Fitzgerald, Bob Gaus, Kirk Hanefeld, Rob Labritz, Jeff Martin, David McNabb, David Muttitt, Rod Perry, Ryan Polzin, Lee Rhind, Mark Sheftic, Sonny Skinner, Mike Small, Stuart Smith, Jeff Sorenson, Bob Sowards, Chip Sullivan.

TOP 70 IN PGA TOUR EARNINGS FROM 2012 BRIDGESTONE INVITATIONAL THROUGH 2013 CANADIAN OPEN: Brandt Snedeker, Matt Kuchar, Dustin Johnson, Bill Haas, Billy Horschel, Sergio Garcia, Nick Watney, Jason Day, Ryan Moore, Jonas Blixt, Kevin Streelman, Lee Westwood, Jim Furyk, Jimmy Walker, Boo Weekley, Hunter Mahan, D.A. Points, Harris English, Luke Donald, Charles Howell III, Robert Garrigus, Brendon de Jonge, Jordan Spieth, Scott Stallings, Graham DeLaet, Russell Henley, John Merrick, Charlie Beljan, Martin Laird, Scott Piercy, David Lingmerth, Ken Duke, Chris Kirk, Josh Teater, Sang-Moon Bae, Michael Thompson, Rickie Fowler, Ryan Palmer, Jason Dufner, Bo Van Pelt, Kyle Stanley, Brian Gay, Charley Hoffman, Roberto Castro, Jason Kokrak, Chris Stroud, Kevin Chappell, John Huh, Kevin Stadler, Marc Leishman, Matt Every.

RYDER CUP PLAYERS FROM 2012 IF STILL IN THE TOP 100 IN THE WORLD RANKING: Nicolas Colsaerts, Paul Lawrie, Francesco Molinari.

PGA TOUR WINNERS SINCE THE 2012 PGA CHAMPIONSHIP: Tommy Gainey, Scott Brown, Derek Ernst, Woody Austin.

SPECIAL EXEMPTIONS FROM THE PGA OF AMERICA: Tom Watson, Paul McGinley, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Thomas Bjorn, Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Paul Casey, K.J. Choi, George Coetzee, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Marcus Fraser, Hiroyuki Fujita, Stephen Gallacher, Branden Grace, Luke Guthrie, Mikko Ilonen, Ryo Ishikawa, Freddie Jacobson, Thongchai Jaidee, Scott Jamieson, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Brendan Jones, Brooks Koepka, Pablo Larrazabal, Shane Lowry, Joost Luiten, Matteo Manassero, Hideki Matsuyama, Alex Noren, Thorbjorn Olesen, Richie Ramsay, Brett Rumford, Marcel Siem, John Senden, Henrik Stenson, Richard Sterne, Peter Uihlein, Jaco Van Zyl, Jimmy Walker, Marc Warren, Bernd Wiesberger, Danny Willet, Chris Wood,

David Hearn, Matt Jones, J.J. Henry, Jeff Overton, John Rollins, Richard Lee, Pat Perez, Jeff Maggert, Patrick Reed, William McGirt.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.