PGA Tour

Lahiri's delight at Presidents Cup first

2015-09-08 12:31
Anirban Lahiri (AFP)

Los Angeles - Indian golfer Anirban Lahiri expressed delight on Monday after confirming his spot in the International team to face the United States in the Presidents Cup.

It is the first time India has been represented in the Ryder-Cup style tournament.

Lahiri was assured of his spot after being the seventh highest-ranked international player eligible for the competition out of the 10 players automatically selected for next month's event in South Korea.

"I can't describe my feelings right now," said Lahiri, who tied for fifth at the PGA Championship last month, the best ever finish in a Major by an Indian golfer.

"Growing up, you look up to events like the Ryder Cup and feel terrible about it as you can't be a part of something like that.

"But thankfully, we have The Presidents Cup for us to aim for, and it is such an achievement to make the team.

"This will be a massive boost for golf in India and the region as a whole."

Players qualified for Presidents Cup 2015:

The American team:

Jordan Spieth, Bubba Watson, Jimmy Walker, Zach Johnson, Jim Furyk, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Rickie Fowler, Matt Kuchar, Chris Kirk.

The International:

Jason Day, Adam Scott, Marc Leishman (Australia), Louis Oosthuizen, Branden Grace, Charl Schwartzel (South Africa), Hideki Matsuyama (Japan), Anirban Lahiri (India), Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand), Danny Lee (New Zealand).

Read more on:    presidents cup  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.