PGA Tour

LA switch for Grand Slam winners event

2015-03-11 11:34
Rory McIlroy (Getty Images)

Los Angeles - The PGA Grand Slam of Golf, a two-day showdown between each year's major champions, will move to Trump National Los Angeles next October in a multi-year deal, organizers announced Tuesday.

The PGA of America will stage the 33rd edition of the event from October 20-21. It will be the first time since 1993 that the winners of the Masters, US and British Opens and PGA Championship do battle with one another on the US mainland.

"The PGA Grand Slam of Golf has always been a showcase of the best in our game," PGA of America president Derek Sprague said. "We are pleased that Trump National Los Angeles will provide a great challenge to the game's finest players."

Since the 1993 edition at the PGA West Nicklaus resort in La Quinta, California, the Grand Slam of Golf has been staged in Hawaii from 1994-2006 and two courses in Bermuda from 2007 through last year.

Other courses owned by mogul Donald Trump hosted last week's PGA events, the Puerto Rico Open and World Golf Championships Cadillac Championship.

Germany's Martin Kaymer won last year's Grand Slam after taking the US Open title at Pinehurst, the third non-US golfer in a row to take the crown after Australian Adam Scott in 2013, following his Masters victory, and Irishman Padraig Harrington in 2012 as a replacement player.

Read more on:    pga tour  |  grand slam of golf  |  golf

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.