PGA Tour

Els wins Payne Stewart Award

2015-08-20 09:44
Ernie Els has been awarded the Payne Stewart award (

Atlanta - The PGA TOUR has recognised Ernie Els, a four-time major champion, as the recipient of the 2015 Payne Stewart Award.

Els – who is known for his off-the-course philanthropy, in particular his devotion to improving the lives of those with autism spectrum disorder as well as development of junior golf talent in his native South Africa – will be honoured on Tuesday, September 22, in conjunction with the TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola in Atlanta.

The Payne Stewart Award is presented annually to a professional golfer who best exemplifies Stewart’s steadfast values of character, charity and sportsmanship. Stewart, an 11-time winner on the PGA TOUR and World Golf Hall of Fame member, died tragically the week of the TOUR Championship in 1999. 

A year later, the PGA TOUR created the Payne Stewart Award in his honor.

The past winners have all distinguished themselves through their respect for the game, the TOUR’s tradition of charity and their ability to make a positive impact in the lives of others.

“I have so many fond memories of Payne and always had the greatest respect for him as a golfer and as a person, and I think this award is a wonderful way to honor his memory and the values that he stood for,” Els told the  

“To be considered worthy of receiving such an award makes me feel proud and very humble. It really means a lot. Of course, the work that we do is a massive team effort, and I thank my wife Liezl and everyone at the foundations for their work and commitment, as well as all the individuals and corporations that support us in helping improve the lives of kids, young adults and families who need and deserve our help.

"Thank you also to everyone at the PGA TOUR and to Southern Company for the incredibly generous donation that will help us in our ongoing mission to support causes close to our hearts.”

Els, a former World No. 1, owns 70 worldwide victories, including four major championships. He is one of six golfers to twice win the U.S. Open and The Open Championship. He was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2011.

“Ernie is a legendary figure in our sport, both on and off the golf course,” said PGA TOUR Commissioner Tim Finchem. 

“His 70 victories across the globe speak for themselves, but his commitment to using his talents and celebrity to improve lives has made him a true Hall of Famer. It’s only fitting that we announce this award on the heels of an amazing milestone in his charitable work through Els for Autism, as Ernie and Liezl celebrated the grand opening of the first two buildings of The Els Center of Excellence on Monday.

"The number of lives that will be – and have already been – impacted through his passion and dedication to this cause is immeasurable.  Ernie’s name belongs on the roster of distinguished names who have won the Payne Stewart Award before him, and he sets a high bar for those who aspire to be named after him.”

In addition to a sculpture by Bob Pack presented to the recipient, the Payne Stewart Award is accompanied by an annual Payne Stewart Award Grant.

The $500,000 grant supports several initiatives in Stewart’s name and is distributed as follows: $100,000 to Payne and Tracey Stewart’s primary charity, The Stewart Family Foundation; $100,000 in Stewart’s honor to The First Tee of the Ozarks located in Missouri at Kids Across America, which is affiliated with Kanakuk Kamps; and $300,000 to a charity designated by the winner. Els has chosen Els for Autism and the Ernie Els & Fancourt Foundation.

Els is the 18th recipient of the award, joining a distinguished group of respected golfers including Sir Nick Faldo, who was recognized in 2014, and the inaugural recipients Byron Nelson, Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer (2000). Other recipients include Peter Jacobsen (2013), Steve Stricker (2012), David Toms (2011), Tom Lehman (2010), Kenny Perry (2009), Davis Love III (2008), Hal Sutton (2007), Gary Player (2006), Brad Faxon (2005), Jay Haas (2004), Tom Watson (2003), Nick Price (2002) and Ben Crenshaw (2001).


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.