PGA Championship

Rahm hit by bizarre 1-shot penalty at PGA Champs

2018-08-11 13:44
Jon Rahm
Jon Rahm (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Jon Rahm was handed an unusual one-shot penalty on the second day of the PGA Championship after his shoe brushed against the ball.

LIVE: 100th PGA Championship - Round 3

Rahm was looking for his ball in the rough on the par five 17th after marshalls had failed to spot where it had landed in the long grass. While searching, his foot made contact with the ball. 

The rules state that an offence has occurred if the player or his caddie causes the ball to move and officials decided that his had happened, despite the Spaniard disagreeing and no advantage being gained.

"I definitely felt I touched it with the top of my foot. I know I touched it. I don't believe I moved it all," Rahm told the official.

"Nobody was marking where the ball was. There's nobody telling me where the ball is."

Rahm still managed to par the hole in his round of 67, as he moved to five under overall - five shots adrift of halfway leader Gary Woodland.

Read more on:    pga championship  |  jon rahm  |  golf
NEXT ON SPORT24X

What To Read Next

 

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Vote

Which of the six South Africans competing at this week's 100th PGA Championship will fare best?

 
 
Men
Women
Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Featured

The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs
 

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

 
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.