PGA Championship

Day, McIlroy, Mickelson paired at PGA Championship

2016-07-22 23:31
jason day, golf, us open
Jason Day (Getty Images)

Springfield - World No 1 Jason Day will have Rory McIlroy and Phil Mickelson alongside him for the first two rounds of the 98th PGA Championship as he begins defending his title.

Groupings and tee times released on Friday by the PGA of America for the year's final major tournament at Baltusrol also featured the traditional grouping of the year's prior major winners - Sweden's Henrik Stenson from the Open Championship, American Dustin Johnson from the US Open and England's Danny Willett from the Masters.

Australian star Day, who won his first major crown last year at Whistling Straits and has seven titles in the past 12 months, will tee off at 08:30 on Thursday at the 10th hole and 13:45 on Friday off the first tee with fourth-ranked McIlroy, the 2014 PGA winner at Valhalla, and 13trh-ranked Mickelson, who captured the title in 2005, the last time the PGA was played at Baltusrol.

World number five Stenson, second-ranked Johnson and ninth-ranked Willett will start from the first tee Thursday at 13:45 and the 10th tee at 08:30 on Friday.

Two-time Masters champion and world number six Bubba Watson, fellow American and world number three Jordan Spieth, twice a major winner, and Spain's 10th-ranked Sergio Garcia will be two groups ahead of the 2016 major winner trio.

The group between them includes England's 11th-ranked Justin Rose, South African Charl Schwartzel and 14th-ranked American Patrick Reed.

Starting just ahead of Day, British Open runner-up Mickelson and McIlroy will be eighth-ranked Aussie Adam Scott, Welshman Jamie Donaldson and American Keegan Bradley, the 2011 PGA champion.

Read more on:    pga championship  |  jason day  |  golf

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the seven South Africans competing at this week's 95th PGA Championship will fare best?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.