Open Championship

Royal Troon to host 2023 Open Championship

2020-02-25 16:18
Claret Jug
Claret Jug (Getty Images)

London - Royal Troon will host the 2023 Open Championship, 100 years after the Scottish course hosted for the first time, the R&A announced on Tuesday.

Troon will host the Open for the 10th time and the first since a dazzling duel between Henrik Stenson and American great Phil Mickelson in 2016. The Swede won by three strokes to become the first Scandinavian to secure the famed Claret Jug.

The 1923 edition was also closely-fought with Englishman Arthur Havers defeating American Walter Hagen by one stroke.

"Royal Troon is one of the world's greatest championships links," said Martin Slumbers, chief executive of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club (R&A) which organises the Open.

"It has produced many memorable moments throughout the history of The Open including the dramatic duel between Henrik Stenson and Phil Mickelson that captivated millions of fans around the world in 2016.

"We are very much looking forward to celebrating another milestone in the cherished history of The Open when we mark the 100th anniversary of the Championship first being played at Royal Troon.

"It will be fascinating to see who will emerge from the world-class field to lift the Claret Jug in 2023."

Read more on:    open championship  |  golf


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.