Open Championship

Facts and figures for the British Open

2017-07-19 20:19
Henrik Stenson (AP)

London - Facts and figures for the British Open, which starts Thursday in Southport, England:

Site: Royal Birkdale

Length: 7 156 yards

Par: 70

Field: 156 players

Playoff (if necessary): 4 holes, aggregate score

Prize money: $10 250 000

Winner's share: $1 845 000

Defending champion: Henrik Stenson

Last year: In a duel that rates among the best in history, Henrik Stenson closed with a 63 to beat Phil Mickelson by three shots at Royal Troon. Stenson joined Johnny Miller as the only players to shoot 63 in the final round to win a major. He finished at 264 (20 under) to set the major championship scoring record. Stenson and Mickelson were so far ahead of everyone else that the next closest player to Mickelson was 11 shots back.

British Open champions at Royal Birkdale: Peter Thomson (1954, 1965), Arnold Palmer (1961), Lee Trevino (1971), Johnny Miller (1976), Tom Watson (1983), Ian Baker-Finch (1991), Mark O'Meara (1998), Padraig Harrington (2008).

Cashing in: The British Open is paying its prize money in American dollars instead of British pounds for the first time.

Key statistic: First-time winners have captures the last seven majors.

Noteworthy: Dustin Johnson has not played the weekend at a major since he tied for ninth last year at the British Open.

Quoteworthy: "You get so excited for these tournaments. They're the biggest and best tournaments in the world. And ultimately my career is going to be defined by how I do in these tournaments." - Rory McIlroy

Read more on:    european tour  |  open championship  |  golf

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the 9 South Africans competing at this week's 145th Open Championship will fare best?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.