Open Championship

Woods drawn with Oosthuizen

2013-07-16 15:33
Tiger Woods (AFP)

Gullane - World number one Tiger Woods has been drawn to play alongside former US Open champion Graeme McDowell and South African Louis Oosthuizen in the first two rounds of this week's British Open at Muirfield.

The trio will tee-off at 15:45 on Thursday and at 09:44 on Friday.

Second-ranked Rory McIlroy has been grouped with American left-hander Phil Mickelson, last week's Scottish Open winner, and Japan's Hideki Matsuyama.

Woods, who will be making his first competitive appearance since last month's US Open in Pennsylvania, played nine holes in practice on Sunday.

The 14-times major winner said he still needed medication and treatment on his injured left elbow.

He had been suffering with minor discomfort ahead of the US Open at Merion where he aggravated the problem and was seen wincing and shaking his arm on several occasions.

"I started chipping and putting a little over a week ago and I'm full go for the British Open," the 37-year-old American said on his website ( on Saturday.

"I'm very confident my elbow strain won't be a problem and I will be able to hit all the shots I need to hit.

"The big thing at Muirfield will be to avoid the rough," added Woods. "Although I have been playing every day I also have to get back into a competitive feel."

Woods is making his second appearance at a Muirfield-hosted British Open after finishing tied 28th in 2002.

"My first visit didn't go very well. I caught the worst of the weather," he said.

"That's just the nature of links golf. Luck plays a big part in it and you never know what you're going to get."

World number seven McDowell is one of golf's hottest players this year, having won the World Match Play Championship in Bulgaria, the RBC Heritage in South Carolina and this month's French Open in Versailles.

Oosthuizen won the British Open, golf's oldest major, at St Andrews in 2010.

Title holder Ernie Els, US Open winner Justin Rose and American Brandt Snedeker feature in another marquee three-ball at 0911 in Thursday's opening round at Muirfield.

U.S. Masters champion Adam Scott has been drawn to play with American Matt Kuchar and Britain's Luke Donald at 1412.

Lee Westwood and Sergio Garcia play alongside former US Masters champion Charl Schwartzel of South Africa while the fans will be squinting into the distance if they choose to follow the big-hitting group of Belgian Nicolas Colsaerts and US Ryder Cup duo Dustin Johnson and Bubba Watson.

Pairings for Thursday's first round of the 142nd British Open golf championship at par-71 Muirfield Golf Course (all times SA):

07:32 Lloyd Saltman (SCO), Peter Senior (AUS), Oliver Fisher (ENG)
07:43 Robert Karlsson (SWE), Todd Hamilton (USA), Ben Stow (ENG)
07:54 Thomas Aiken (RSA), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA), Bud Cauley (USA)
08;05 Brooks Koepka (USA), Mikko Ilonen (FIN), Ashun Wu (CHN)
08:16 David Duval (USA), Bernd Wiesberger (AUT), Chris Wood (ENG)
08:27 Stewart Cink (USA), Scott Stallings (USA), Richard McEvoy (ENG)
08:38 Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP), K J Choi (KOR), Jimmy Walker (USA)
08:49 Ben Curtis (USA), Shane Lowry (IRL), Rafael Cabrera Bello (ESP)
09:00 Brian Davis (ENG), Jonas Blixt (SWE), Graham Delaet (CAN)
09:11 Robert Garrigus (USA), John Senden (AUS), Marc Warren (SCO)
09:22 Martin Kaymer (GER), Garrick Porteous (ENG), Jason Day (AUS)
09:33 Carl Pettersson (SWE), Jason Dufner (USA), David Lynn (ENG)
09:44 Bubba Watson (USA), Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL), Dustin Johnson (USA)
10:00 Tom Watson (USA), Nick Faldo (ENG), Fred Couples (USA)
10:11 Justin Rose (ENG), Ernie Els (RSA), Brandt Snedeker (USA)
10:22 Ian Poulter (ENG), Keegan Bradley (USA), Billy Horschel (USA)
10:33 Richard Sterne (RSA), Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (ESP), Nick Watney (USA)
10:44 Rory McIlroy (NIR), Hideki Matsuyama (JPN), Phil Mickelson (USA)
10:55 Tim Clark (RSA), Scott Piercy (USA), Kevin Streelman (USA)
11:06 Shingo Katayama (JPN), Zach Johnson (USA), Thomas Bjorn (DEN)
11:17 Angel Cabrera (ARG), Camilo Villegas (COL), Tano Goya (ARG)
11:28 Ken Duke (USA), George Coetzee (RSA), Mark Calcavecchia (USA)
11:39 John Huh (USA), Brendan Jones (AUS), Hyung-sung Kim (KOR)
11:50 Josh Teater (USA), Steven Tiley (ENG), Jimmy Mullen (ENG)
12:01 K.T. Kim (KOR), Steven Jeffress (AUS), Luke Guthrie (USA)
12:12 Gareth Wright (WAL), John Wade (AUS), Makoto Inoue (JPN)
12:33 Y.E. Yang (KOR), Danny Willett (ENG), Johnson Wagner (USA)
12:44 Thaworn Wiratchant (THA), Lucas Glover (USA), Oscar Floren (SWE)
12:55 Boo Weekley (USA), Sandy Lyle (SCO), Niclas Fasth (SWE)
13:06 Grant Forrest (SCO), Marcus Fraser (AUS), Mark O'Meara (USA)
13:17 Tom Lehman (USA), Thongchai Jaidee (THA), Fredrik Jacobson (SWE)
13:28 Rhys Pugh (WAL), Justin Leonard (USA), Marc Leishman (AUS)
13:39 Kyle Stanley (USA), Alvaro Quiros (ESP), Alexander Noren (SWE)
13:50 Russell Henley (USA), Jordan Spieth (USA), Matthew Fitzpatrick (ENG)
14:01 Michael Thompson (USA), Padraig Harrington (IRL), Richie Ramsay (SCO)
14:12 Vijay Singh (Fij), Darren Clarke (NIR), Martin Laird (SCO)
14:23 Ryan Moore (USA), Henrik Stenson (SWE), Steven Fox (USA)
14:34 Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN), Jim Furyk (USA), Paul Lawrie (SCO)
14:45 Harris English (USA), Geoff Ogilvy (AUS), Stephen Gallacher (SCO)
15:01 Charl Schwartzel (RSA), Lee Westwood (ENG), Sergio Garcia (ESP)
15:12 Adam Scott (AUS), Matt Kuchar (USA), Luke Donald (ENG)
15:23 Matteo Manassero (ITA), Rickie Fowler (USA), Hunter Mahan (USA)
15:34 Peter Hanson (SWE), Hiroyuki Fujita (JPN), Bill Haas (USA)
15:45 Tiger Woods (USA), Graeme McDowell (NIR), Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)
15:56 Webb Simpson (USA), Branden Grace (RSA), Jamie Donaldson (WAL)
16:07 Francesco Molinari (ITA), Toru Taniguchi (JPN), Bo Van Pelt (USA)
16:18 Brett Rumford (AUS), D.A. Points (USA), Marcel Siem (GER)
16:29 George Murray (SCO), Mark Brown (NZL), Justin Harding (RSA)
16:40 Scott Jamieson (SCO), Gregory Bourdy (FRA), Shiv Kapur (IND)
16:51 Scott Brown (USA), Satoshi Kodaira (JPN), Gareth Maybin (NIR)
17:02 Tyrrell Hatton (ENG), Eduardo De La Riva (ESP), Kenichi Kuboya (JPN)
17:13 Stephen Dartnall (AUS), Darryn Lloyd (RSA), Daisuke Maruyama (JPN)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the 9 South Africans competing at this week's 145th Open Championship will fare best?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.