Nedbank Golf Challenge

Star-studded field set for Nedbank Golf Challenge

2017-11-06 20:37
Louis Oosthuizen (Getty Images)

Cape Town - A strong 72-player field for the 2017 Nedbank Golf Challenge at the Gary Player Country Club at Sun City was confirmed on Monday.

South African golfing icon Gary Player will be hosting the event starting on Thursday, November 9.

There are NINE South Africans taking part in the event.

There will be four major winners in the field for the $7.5 million tournament - Padraig Harrington (2007, 2008 Open Championship and 2008 PGA Championship), Martin Kaymer (2010 PGA Championship and 2014 US Open), Louis Oosthuizen (2010 Open Championship) and Charl Schwartzel (2011 Masters).

Meanwhile, 2016 Open Championship Henrik Stenson had to withdraw from the remainder of the European Tour season - including Sun City - after suffering a freak injury.

Swede Alex Noren will look to defend his title, while Englishman Tommy Fleetwood will look to take a step closer to wrapping up the Race to Dubai title by increasing his lead over compatriot Justin Rose.

The Nedbank Golf Challenge is the penultimate tournament of the European Tour season and the seventh event on the Rolex Series – the European Tour's premium category of eight tournaments for the Race to Dubai.

2017 Nedbank Golf Challenge field:

Alex Noren (Sweden), Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa), Brandon Stone (South Africa), Thomas Bjørn (Denmark), Tommy Fleetwood (England), Padraig Harrington (Ireland), Tyrell Hatton (England), Ross Fisher (England), Rafa Cabrera Bello (Spain), Martin Kaymer (Germany), Francesco Molinari (Italy), Charl Schwartzel (South Africa), Bernd Wiesberger (Austria), Matthew Fitzpatrick (England), Paul Dunne (Ireland), Peter Uihlein (USA), Alexander Levy (France), Dylan Frittelli (South Africa), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Thailand), Haotong Li (China), Jordan Smith (England), Thorbjørn Olesen (Denmark), Hideto Tanihara (Japan), Nicolas Colsaerts (Belgium), Fabrizio Zanotti (Paraguay), Richie Ramsay (Scotland), Matthew Southgate (England), Lee Westwood (England), Ryan Fox (New Zealand), Joost Luiten (Netherlands), Mike Lorenza-Vera (France), Branden Grace (South Africa), Eddie Pepperell (England), Callum Shinkwin (England), Pablo Larrazabal (Spain), Andrew Dodt (Australia), Graeme Storm (England), Scott Hend (Australia), Alexander Björk (Sweden), Chris Wood (England), David Lipsky (USA), Jeunghun Wang (Korea), George Coetzee (South Africa), David Horsey (England), Søren Kjeldsen (Denmark), Shane Lowry (Ireland), Matthieu Pavon (France), David Drysdale (Scotland), Lucas Bjerregaard (Denmark), Adrian Otaegui (Spain), Dean Burmester (South Africa), Andy Sullivan (England), Marc Warren (Scotland), Julian Suri (USA), Sam Brazel (Australia), Gregory Bourdy (France), Richard Sterne (South Africa), Paul Waring (England), Ian Poulter (England), Jorge Campillo (Spain), Haydn Porteous (South Africa), Benjamin Hebert (France), Romain Wattel (France), Matt Wallace (England), Renato Paratore (Italy), Nacho Elvira (Spain), Edoardo Molinari (Italy), Victor Dubuisson (France), Stephen Gallacher (Scotland), Scott Jamieson (Scotland), Anthony Wall (England), Andres Romero (Argentina)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.