Nedbank Golf Challenge

Grace, McIlroy a power pair on Day 1 of 'Africa's Major'

2018-11-07 15:24
Rory McIlroy (AP)

Watch this hilarious video of South African golfer Brandon Stone attempting an elusive hole-in-one using 500 balls at the Gary Player Country Club.

Cape Town - Golf fans are in for a treat as Branden Grace, the defending champion in the Nedbank Golf Challenge, and Rory McIlroy will tee off in the same three-ball in Thursday's first round of "Africa's Major".

The draw for the 2018 tournament has been announced and features a number of top groupings for fans to choose from.

Grace and McIlroy will have the in-form Haotong Li in their group, which tees off on the first hole at the Gary Player Country Club at 10:51.

Martin Kaymer and Danny Willett, both former winners of the Nedbank Golf Challenge, will lead the action off the first tee alongside Sam Horsfield at 08:50.

READ: Van Rooyen realises boyhood dream at Sun City

South Africa's Erik van Rooyen, making his debut in the Nedbank Golf Challenge, has the company of three-time Major champion Padraig Harrington in his three-ball at 09:34, and off the first tee.

And there is a Masters theme to the 10:07 group off the first, with Charl Schwartzel and Sergio Garcia in the same three-ball.

Round 1:

Hole 1

08:50 - Danny Willett, Martin Kaymer, Sam Horsfield

09:01 - Jordan Smith, Lee Westwood, Tom Lewis

09:12 - Marcus Kinhult, Mikko Korhonen, Shane Lowry

09:32 - Lucas Herbert, Ross Fisher, Dylan Frittelli

09:34 - Padraig Harrington, Erik van Rooyen, Thomas Detry

09:45 - Richard Sterne, Andrea Pavan, Julian Suri

09:56 - Shubhankar Sharma, Alexander Levy, Jorge Campillo

10:07 - Charl Schwartzel, Sergio Garcia, Andy Sullivan

10:18 - Adrian Otaegui, Matt Wallace, Alexander Bjork

10:29 - Matthew Fitzpatrick, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Louis Oosthuizen

10:40 - Brandon Stone, Ryan Fox, Lucas Bjerregaard

10:51 - Branden Grace, Haotong Li, Rory McIlroy

Hole 10

08:50 - Mike Lorenzo-Vera, Ashun Wu, Wade Ormsby

09:01 - Hideto Tanihara, Lee Slattery, Paul Dunne

09:12 - Joakim Lagergren, Joost Luiten, Matthew Southgate

09:23 - Benjamin Hebert, Nacho Elvira, Chris Paisley

09:34 - Pablo Larrazabal, Robert Rock, Dean Burmester

09:45 - George Coetzee, Jens Dantorp, Oliver Fisher

09:56 - Thomas Aiken, Ashley Chesters, Matthias Schwab

10:07 - Aaron Rai, Richard Mcevoy, Darren Fichardt

10:18 - Thomas Bjorn, Tapio Pulkkanen, Andrew Johnston

10:29 - Gavin Green, Jason Scrivener, Stephen Gallacher

10:40 - Maximilian Kieffer, Nicolas Colsaerts, Trevor Immelman

10:51 - Renato Paratore, Paul Waring, Matthieu Pavon


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.