McIlroy in four-way lead

2011-09-02 20:06

Crans sur sierre - Rory McIlroy shot a second-round 69 on Friday to share the lead at eight-under-par with Simon Dyson, Gary Boyd and Jamie Donaldson at the European Masters.

After hitting an impressive 65 on Thursday, the Northern Irishman endured an inconsistent start to his second round, with two birdies, an eagle, a bogey and a double-bogey on the front nine.

A much quieter inward nine in the Swiss Alps featured a single birdie and eight pars, although McIlroy was left frustrated after failing to seize birdie opportunities at 16, 17 and 18.

"I felt that I hit the ball much the same today as I did yesterday," he told Sky Sports at the end of his round.

"I gave myself lots of chances coming in but I was unable to take them, which is frustrating. I will need to putt better if I am to have a chance over the weekend."

Welshman Donaldson moved into contention with a round of 66, while Boyd's 69 featured an eagle and three bogies.

Boyd's fellow Englishman Dyson -- winner at the Irish Open a month ago -- sunk a birdie putt from 10 feet at the last for a 68 to also sit at eight-under at the halfway stage.

Overnight leader Nick Dougherty was in the first group out on Friday morning and was unable to carry over his form from the previous day as he followed up his opening 63 with a one-over-par round of 72.

"I had two things in my head -- the tournament and getting the monkey of not making a cut off my back," he said afterwards.

"Hopefully I can play with a bit more flair and flamboyance tomorrow, it was a little cagey."

Dougherty sits on seven-under along with former world number one Martin Kaymer of Germany, Jaco Van Zyl of South Africa, Paraguay's Fabrizio Zanotti and England's Danny Willett, whose 64 was the lowest score of the day.

Lee Westwood was in a large group at six-under at this event, the first to count towards qualification for next year's Ryder Cup, while last year's winner Miguel Angel Jimenez and Open champion Darren Clarke sit at four-under.


134 - Simon Dyson 66-68, Gary Boyd 65-69, Jamie Donaldson 68-66, Rory McIlroy 65-69

135 - Nick Dougherty 63-72, Danny Willett 71-64, Martin Kaymer (GER) 65-70, Jaco Van Zyl (RSA) 67-68, Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR) 69-66

136 - Lee Westwood 67-69, Alexander Noren (SWE) 69-67, Matteo Manassero (ITA) 70-66, Stephen Gallacher 70-66, Damian Ulrich (SUI) 69-67, Soren Kjeldsen (DEN) 69-67, David Lynn 68-68, Thomas Bjorn (DEN) 68-68, Peter Lawrie 70-66

137 - Soren Hansen (DEN) 71-66, Jbe Kruger (RSA) 68-69, Alejandro Canizares (ESP) 66-71, Edoardo Molinari (ITA) 69-68, Shiv Kapur (IND) 70-67, Niklas Lemke (SWE) 71-66

138 - Keith Horne (RSA) 71-67, Jeev Milkha Singh (IND) 67-71, Thongchai Jaidee (THA) 71-67, Christian Cevaer (FRA) 69-69, Michael Campbell (NZL) 67-71, Joost Luiten (NED) 70-68, George Coetzee (RSA) 72-66, Darren Clarke 67-71, Oscar Floren (SWE) 70-68, Thongchai Jaidee (Tha) 71-67, Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP) 70-68, Paul Lawrie 69-69, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (ESP) 70-68

139 - George Murray 70-69, Francesco Molinari (ITA) 70-69, Gary Orr 69-70, Marcel Siem (GER) 72-67, Martin Rominger (SUI) 71-68, Mohd. Siddikur (BAN) 69-70, Anthony Wall 71-68, Stephen Dodd 68-71, David Dixon 69-70, Henrik Stenson (SWE) 71-68

140 - Richie Ramsay 70-70, James Kingston (RSA) 69-71, Phillip Price 70-70, Louis Oosthuizen (RSA), 70-70, Maarten Lafeber (NED) 68-72, Steven O'Hara 73-67, Pablo Larrazabal (ESP) 70-70, Raphael Jacquelin (FRA) 69-71, Johan Edfors (SWE) 71-69, Felipe Aguilar (CHI) 70-70, Peter Hanson (SWE) 68-72, Michael Jonzon (SWE) 71-69, Michael Hoey 70-70, Fredrik Andersson Hed (SWE) 70-70

Missed cut

142 - Colin Montgomerie 76-66

144 - Eduardo Romero (ARG) 73-71

145 - David Howell 72-73, Todd Hamilton (USA) 77-68

146 - Bradley Dredge 74-72

151 - Jose-Maria Olazabal (ESP) 75-76