Els paired with Day at Masters

2016-04-06 07:40
Ernie Els

Augusta - Rory McIlroy can only hope the last shall be first remains a theme at this year's Masters after Augusta National released pairings for the first two rounds on Tuesday that have him as the final player to tee off in Thursday's opening round.

Four-time major champion McIlroy, who aced the par-3 16th hole in a Monday practice round, can complete a career Grand Slam at age 26 if he captures the green jacket symbolic of Masters supremacy on Sunday.

He tees off just after 20:00 SA time on Thursday alongside Germany's Martin Kaymer, a two-time major winner, and American Bill Haas in the last group on day one.

Augusta National used the "last shall be first" notion in its pairings as Jim Herman, the 38-year-old American who won last Sunday's Houston Open to claim the final Masters berth, is the first man in the field of 89 to tee off Thursday.

Herman starts at 14:20 alongside Australian Steven Bowditch.

Between those extremes are a host of notable trios that will challenge the undulating greens of Augusta National for the first two days before the cut is made in the year's first major championship.

World No 1 Jason Day of Australia plays alongside South African Ernie Els, a four-time major champion, and American Matt Kuchar.

Chinese amateur Jin Cheng joins reigning British Open and 2007 Masters winner Zach Johnson, who won in cold conditions similar to those expected at Augusta this week, and Rickie Fowler over the first 36 holes.

Defending champion Jordan Spieth plays alongside England's Paul Casey and US amateur champion Bryson DeChambeau while South Africa's Louis Oosthuizen and American Jason Dufner, both major winners, join US standout Patrick Reed.

Five-time major winner Phil Mickelson, who has won the Masters three times, tees off with Aussie Marc Leishman and Sweden's Henrik Stenson.

Past Masters winner Adam Scott will be joined by Americans Kevin Kisner and Brooks Koepka while two-time Masters champion Bubba Watson plays alongside England's Ian Poulter and South African Branden Grace.

Tee times for Thursday's opening round of the 80th Masters tournament at Augusta National Golf Club (par 72, all times SA):

14:20: Jim Herman (USA), Steven Bowditch (AUS)

14:31: Trevor Immelman (RSA), Robert Streb (USA), Derek Bard (USA)

14:42: Larry Mize (USA), Victor Dubuisson (FRA), Kevin Streelman (USA)

14:53: Sandy Lyle (SCO), Bernd Wiesberger (AUT), Vaughn Taylor (USA)

15:04: Webb Simpson (USA), Chris Wood (ENG), Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

15:15: Tom Watson (USA), Charley Hoffman (USA), Lee Westwood (ENG)

15:26: Zach Johnson (USA), Rickie Fowler (USA), Jin Cheng (CHN)

15:37: Louis Oosthuizen (RSA), Jason Dufner (USA), Patrick Reed (USA)

15:48: Jordan Spieth (USA), Paul Casey (ENG), Bryson DeChambeau (USA)

15:59: Justin Thomas (USA), Emiliano Grillo (ARG), Dustin Johnson (USA)

16:10: OPEN

16:21: Vijay Singh (FIJ), Hideki Matsuyama (JPN), Chris Kirk (USA)

16:32: Harris English (USA), Andy Sullivan (ENG), Kevin Na (USA)

16:43: Phil Mickelson (USA), Marc Leishman (AUS), Henrik Stenson (SWE)

16:54: Justin Rose (ENG), Jamie Donaldson (WAL), Daniel Berger (USA)

17:05: Adam Scott (AUS), Kevin Kisner (USA), Brooks Koepka (USA)

17:16: Mike Weir (CAN), Cameron Smith (AUS), Sammy Schmitz (USA)

17:27: Ian Woosnam (WAL), Troy Merritt (USA), An Byeong-Hun (KOR)

17:38: Darren Clarke (NIR), Billy Horschel (USA), Matthew Fitzpatrick (ENG)

17:49: Mark O'Meara (USA), David Lingmerth (SWE), Paul Chaplet (CRC)

18:00: Keegan Bradley (USA), Brandt Snedeker (USA), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

18:11: OPEN

18:22: Charl Schwartzel (RSA), Davis Love III (USA), Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP)

18:33: Danny Lee (NZL), Russell Knox (SCO), Smylie Kaufman (USA)

18:44: Bubba Watson (USA), Branden Grace (RSA), Ian Poulter (ENG)

18:55: Bernhard Langer (GER), Hunter Mahan (USA), Romain Langasque (FRA)

19:06: Jason Day (AUS), Matt Kuchar (USA), Ernie Els (RSA)

19:17: Graeme McDowell (NIR), Fabian Gomez (ARG), Scott Piercy (USA)

19:28: Jimmy Walker (USA), Soren Kjeldsen (DEN), Anirban Lahiri (IND)

19:39: Danny Willett (ENG), Sergio Garcia (ESP), Ryan Moore (USA)

19:50: Angel Cabrera (ARG), Shane Lowry (IRL), JB Holmes (USA)

20:01: Martin Kaymer (GER), Bill Haas (USA), Rory McIlroy (NIR)

Read more on:    pga tour  |  masters  |  ernie els  |  jason day  |  rory mcilroy  |  golf


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights


There are FIVE South Africans competing at this year's Masters. Who will fare best?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.