Masters pairings confirmed

2011-04-05 19:27
Phil Mickelson (File)

Augusta - Phil Mickelson will launch his title defence at this week's Masters in the company of fellow American Peter Uihlein and Australian Geoff Ogilvy, in groupings announced on Tuesday.

Mickelson, who completed his preparations for the season's opening major with victory at the Houston Open on Sunday, was scheduled to tee off at 19:48 in Thursday's opening round at Augusta National, in the penultimate group.

Former US Open champion Ogilvy will be competing in his sixth Masters while US amateur champion Uihlein will be making his debut.

Four-times champion Tiger Woods, whose world ranking has slipped to seventh after a run of almost 17 months without a tournament win, has been grouped with Britain's Graeme McDowell and Australian Robert Allenby for the first two rounds.

Woods and his playing partners start at 16:4 on Thursday.

Germany's world number one Martin Kaymer, second-ranked Briton Lee Westwood and 10th-ranked American Matt Kuchar will tee off two groups in front of Woods and company.

In other groupings, 2009 champion Angel Cabrera of Argentina will set off with Britain's Ian Poulter and American David Toms while three-time major winner Padraig Harrington of Ireland has been paired with Japan's Ryo Ishikawa and American Bill Haas.

First off at 13:45, following ceremonial tee shots by golfing greats Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus, will be Americans Jonathan Byrd and Sean O'Hair and Britain's Ross Fisher.

Pairings for Thursday's opening round of the 75th Masters golf tournament (USA unless noted):

13:45 - Jonathan Byrd, Ross Fisher (ENG), Sean O'Hair
13:56 - Sandy Lyle (SCO), Alex Cejka (GER), David Chung
14:07 - Jerry Kelly, Camilo Villegas (COL), Jeff Overton
14:18 - Ben Crenshaw, Brandt Snedeker, Kevin Na
14:29 - Mark O'Meara, Anders Hansen (DEN), Heath Slocum
14:40 - Dustin Johnson, Adam Scott (AUS), Nick Watney
14:51 - Vijay Singh (FIJ), Tim Clark (RSA), Aaron Baddeley (AUS)
15:02 - Gregory Havret (FRA), Carl Pettersson (SWE), Ryan Palmer
15:13 - Martin Laird (SCO), Mark Wilson, Bo Van Pelt
15:24 - Rory McIlroy (NIR), Rickie Fowler, Jason Day (AUS)
15:35 - Mike Weir (CAN), Hiroyuki Fujita (JPN), Retief Goosen (RSA)
15:57 - Padraig Harrington (IRE), Ryo Ishikawa (JPN), Bill Haas
16:08 - Larry Mize, Rory Sabbatini (RSA), Jeong Jin (KOR)
16:19 - Martin Kaymer (GER), Lee Westwood (ENG), Matt Kuchar
16:30 - Hunter Mahan, Ernie Els (RSA), Francesco Molinari (ITA)
16:41 - Tiger Woods, Graeme McDowell (NIR), Robert Allenby (AUS)
16:52 - Arjun Atwal (IND), Sergio Garcia (ESP), Robert Karlsson (SWE)
17:03 - Charl Schwartzel (RSA), Stuart Appleby (AUS), Charley Hoffman
17:14 - Ian Woosnam (WAL), D.A. Points, Ben Crane
17:25 - Craig Stadler, Kevin Streelman, Nathan Smith
17:36 - Peter Hanson (SWE), Kim Kyung-Tae (KOR), Ryan Moore
17:47 - Angel Cabrera (ARG), Ian Poulter (ENG), David Toms
18:09 - Trevor Immelman (RSA), Lucas Glover, Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)
18:20 - Zach Johnson, Yang Yong-Eun (KOR), Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP)
18:31 - Jose Maria Olazabal (ESP), Davis Love, Lion Kim
18:42 - Tom Watson, Ricky Barnes, John Bohn
18:53 - Fred Couples, Luke Donald (ENG), Steve Stricker
19:04 - Anthony Kim, Henrik Stenson (SWE), Steve Marino
19:15 - Bubba Watson, Paul Casey (ENG), Edoardo Molinari (ITA)
19:26 - Stewart Cink, Jim Furyk, Yuta Ikeda (JPN)
19:37 - Justin Rose (ENG), K.J. Choi (KOR), Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)
19:48 - Phil Miclkelson, Geoff Ogilvy (AUS), Peter Uihlein
19:59 - Jhonattan Vegas (VEN), Gary Woodland, Alvaro Quiros (ESP)

Read more on:    masters

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the FIVE South Africans competing at this year's Masters has the best chance of winning?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.