Clark to kick off Masters

2014-04-08 20:05
Tim Clark (AFP)

Augusta - Defending champion Adam Scott will join the most recent major winner, Jason Dufner, and Britain's Matthew Fitzpatrick for the first two rounds of the 78th Masters in groups announced.

Scott, who last year became the first Australian to win a green jacket at Augusta National when he captured his first major title, is traditionally joined by the reigning US Amateur champion, who is Fitzpatrick.

This time he will be joined by American Dufner, who won his first major title last August at the PGA Championship by holding off Jim Furyk in the final holes.

The trio will tee off Thursday morning at 16:41 (SA time) with two-time major winner Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland in the group directly behind them.

Meanwhile, South Africa's Tim Clark will be teeing off in the opening pairing along with Stewart Cink at 13:45.

McIlroy, a Masters favorite with British oddsmakers this week, will be joined at 16:52 on Thursday by first-time Masters participants Jordan Spieth and Patrick Reed, both Americans.

The opening round's last few groups also feature some prime contenders, with Aussie Jason Day joined at 19:04 by Sweden's Henrik Stenson and American Dustin Johnson.

Spain's Sergio Garcia, Britain's Luke Donald and American Bubba Watson, the 2012 Masters winner, are in the next group.

Two groups behind them are Swede Peter Hanson, American Keegan Bradley and Frenchman Victor Dubuisson.

Reigning British Open champion Phil Mickelson, a three-time Masters winner, will join South African Ernie Els and England's Justin Rose, the reigning US Open champion, in the penultimate group Thursday.

The first father-son duo to play in the same Masters, Craig and Kevin Stadler, will not play together.

Craig, the 1982 Masters winner, will play alongside fellow American Scott Stalling and Germany's Martin Kaymer in his 38th Masters start while his son Kevin makes his Masters debut alongside John Huh and Welshman Ian Woosnam in Thursday's second group off the first tee.

Pairings for Thursday's first round of the 78th Masters at par-72 Augusta National Golf Club (all times CAT):

13:45: Stewart Cink (USA), Tim Clark (RSA)
13:56: Ian Woosnam (WAL), John Huh (USA), Kevin Stadler (USA)
14:07: Ben Crenshaw (USA), Yang Yong-Eun (KOR), Jonas Blixt (SWE)
14:18: Mark O'Meara (USA), Steven Bowditch (AUS), Jordan Niebrugge (USA)
14:29: John Senden (AUS), Boo Weekley (USA), David Lynn (ENG)
14:40: Craig Stadler (USA), Scott Stallings (USA), Martin Kaymer (GER)
14:51: Tom Watson (USA), Billy Horschel (USA), Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)
15:02: Mike Weir (CAN), Matt Every (USA), Roberto Castro (USA)
15:13: Angel Cabrera (ARG), Gary Woodland (USA), Ian Poulter (ENG)
15:24: Fred Couples (USA), Webb Simpson (USA), Lee Chang-Woo (KOR)
15:35: Graeme McDowell (NIR), Rickie Fowler (USA), Jimmy Walker (USA)
15:46: OPEN
15:57: Zach Johnson (USA), KJ Choi (KOR), Steve Stricker (USA)
16:08: Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP), Bill Haas (USA), Matteo Manassero (ITA)
16:19: Hideki Matsuyama (JPN), Brandt Snedeker (USA), Jamie Donaldson (WAL)
16:30: Charl Schwartzel (RSA), Jim Furyk (USA), Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)
16:41: Adam Scott (AUS), Jason Dufner (USA), Matthew Fitzpatrick (ENG)
16:52: Jordan Spieth (USA), Patrick Reed (USA), Rory McIlroy (NIR)
17:03: Kevin Streelman (USA), DA Points (USA)
17:14: Larry Mize (USA), Branden Grace (RSA), Michael McCoy (USA)
17:25: Sandy Lyle (SCO), Matt Jones (AUS), Ken Duke (USA)
17:36: Jose Maria Olazabal (ESP), Lucas Glover (USA), Garrick Porteous (ENG)
17:47: Nick Watney (USA), Stephen Gallacher (SCO), Darren Clarke (NIR)
17:58: OPEN
18:09: Vijay Singh (FIJ), Thomas Bjorn (DEN), Ryan Moore (USA)
18:20: Matt Kuchar (USA), Louis Oosthuizen (RSA), Thongchai Jaidee (THA)
18:31: Trevor Immelman (RSA), Graham DeLaet (CAN), Oliver Gross (AUS)
18:42: Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (ESP), Derek Ernst (USA), Bae Sang-Moon (KOR)
18:53: Bernhard Langer (GER), Francesco Molinari (ITA), Chris Kirk (USA)
19:04: Jason Day (AUS), Dustin Johnson (USA), Henrik Stenson (SWE)
19:15: Bubba Watson (USA), Luke Donald (ENG), Sergio Garcia (ESP)
19:26: Joost Luiten (NED), Marc Leishman (AUS), Hunter Mahan (USA)
19:37: Keegan Bradley (USA), Victor Dubuisson (FRA), Peter Hanson (SWE)
19:48: Phil Mickelson (USA), Ernie Els (RSA), Justin Rose (ENG)
19:59: Harris English (USA), Lee Westwood (ENG), Russell Henley (USA)

Read more on:    pga tour  |  masters  |  adam scott  |  golf


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


There are SIX South Africans competing at this year's Masters. Who will fare best?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.