Haig has blast from the past

2011-02-24 19:18

Johannesburg - Anton Haig turned back the clock to the days when he was one of South Africa’s hottest young golfers with a seven-under-par 65 on Thursday to share the first-round lead of the Telkom PGA Championship.

The 24-year-old who won his first Sunshine Tour event at the age of 19 in 2005, and subsequently went on to win the 2007 Johnnie Walker Classic on the European Tour at 21, turned in an unexceptional three-under-par 33 after starting his round on the 10th hole of the Woodmead course at Country Club Johannesburg.

“I felt great from the very beginning,” he said. “I haven’t been having a great time lately. But I hit my first shot perfectly and then striped it all day after that.”

But for a bogey on the 17th, he could have had the outright lead instead of sharing it with Darryn Lloyd, Branden Grace, Oliver Bekker and George Coetzee.

And there was the bit of absent-mindedness which cost him a penalty stroke on the fifth when he lifted his ball from the fairway. “We’ve had so much rain this year,” he laughed, “that I just did it without thinking. I had the ball in my hand, and then I saw my tee on the ground to mark it – so I had to call a penalty stroke on myself.”

He still managed a par four on the 434-metre hole.

“I haven’t had so much fun for a long time,” said Haig. “It’s easy to say I’ll do the same in the second round, but that’s what I’m going to try and do, even though I’m leading now.”

Haig will take a voluntary leave of absence from the Sunshine Tour for four months after this tournament after a disciplinary hearing following poor behaviour at the Dimension Data Pro-Am.

“I’d like to apologise to Dimension Data chairman Jeremy Ord, Dimension Data and my playing partners,” said a contrite Haig.

But he brightened as he thought about enjoying the game in which he had such a promising start as a professional.

He shared the lead with a quartet of young players who dominated the round: Lloyd is 21, Bekker is 26, Grace is 22 and Coetzee 24.

Grace, Bekker and Coetzee all recorded bogey-free rounds, in contrast to Haig and Lloyd.

“I left a few putts out there,” said Grace, “but I have been hitting it well since my first win at the Coca-Cola Championship last year. I feel as if I could win any week now.”

Bekker has now recorded three successive bogey-free rounds, and he says it’s because he’s more careful off the tee recently. “I hit a lot more three-woods, and take it easy with my drive, and I hit 12 fairways today,” he said.

Coetzee said his round almost didn’t feel like a good one. “I started with six straight pars, and then the putts started going in. I’ve been hitting it so well lately that a lot of the time I didn’t even notice that I was making birdies,” he said.

Defending champion Michiel Bothma had a slow start with a one-over 73; ‘ast week’s Dimension Data Pro-Am winner Hennie Otto opened with a 66, while European Tour stars Thomas Aiken and James Kingston each carded a two-under 72.

Scores (RSA unless specified):

65 - Darryn Lloyd, Oliver Bekker, George Coetzee, Branden Grace, Anton Haig
66 - Mark Murless, Colin Nel, Adam Hadwin (CAN), Ryan Strauss, Deane Pappas, Hennie Otto
67 - Albert Pistorius, Jbe' Kruger, Chris Swanepoel, Darren Fichardt
68 - Christian Ries, PH McIntyre, Keith Horne, Doug McGuigan, Neil Cheetham (ENG), TC Charamba (ZIM), Garth Mulroy, Brett Liddle, Ryan Cairns (ZIM), Matthew Carvell, Christiaan Basson, Anthony Michael, Trevor Fisher Jnr, Daniel Greene, Neil Schietekat, Ockie Strydom
69 - Michael Scholz, Dean O'Riley, Louis de Jager, Andrew Georgiou, Jake Roos, Tyrone Ferreira, Divan van den Heever, Bradford Vaughan, Derek Scullard
70 - Dean Burmester, JG Claassen, Louis Calitz, Alan Michell, Thomas Aiken, Ryan Tipping, Brandon Pieters, Justin Walters, Jacques Blaauw, Charl Coetzee, Andre Cruse, Thomas Curtis (ENG), Jeff Inglis (ENG), Alex Haindl, James Kingston, Alan McLean (SCO), Ulrich van den Berg, Tyrone Ryan, David Hewan, JJ Senekal
71 - Walter Els, Ben Mannix (ENG), Jeremy Kavanagh (ENG), Omar Sandys, Adilson da Silva (BRA), John McClean, Peter Karmis, James Kamte, Jaco Ahlers, Jean Hugo, Grant Muller, Darren Blair, Vaughn Groenewald, PG van Zyl, Adrian Ford, Willie van der Merwe
72 - Bruce McDonald (ZIM), Peter Wilson (ENG), Bennie van der Merwe, Louis Moolman, Jaco Van Zyl, Shaun Norris, Allan Versfeld, Keenan Davidse, Callie Swart, Ryan Thompson, Dawie Van der Walt, Tjaart van der Walt, Merrick Bremner, Tyrone Mordt, Teboho Sefatsa, Ryan Hood
73 - Derick Petersen, Lyle Rowe, Wallie Coetsee, Rudy Whitfield, Luke Goddard (ENG), Dion Fourie, Richard Sterne, Mark Fensham, Sean Ludgater, Bryce Easton, Ignatius Mketekete (ZIM), Patrick Spindler, Ashley Roestoff, Michael Dreyer, Johan du Buisson, Justin Harding, Josh Cunliffe, Michiel Bothma, Martin Maritz, Irvin Mazibuko, Alexandre Chopard (SUI)
74 - Robson Saurombe (ZIM), Mike Michell, Owen Grobler, Robert Wiederkehr (SUI), Desvonde Botes, Prinavin Nelson, Theunis Spangenberg, Steven Ferreira, Johan Bekker, Lourens Kleynhans, Henk Alberts, Warren Abery, Lindani Ndwandwe
75 - Ali Tsai, Toto Thimba (Jnr), Michael du Toit, Coenie Stoop, Reggie Adams, Thabang Simon, Grant Veenstra, Paul Marks, Derik Ferreira
76 - Des Terblanche, Morne Buys, Ian Palmer
77 - Darren Bismark (ZIM), Morne Botha, Andrew Curlewis, Divan Gerber, George Sauerman, Kenneth Dube, Cameron Johnston, Ian Kennedy, Danie van Niekerk (Jnr)
78 - Don Black, Warrick Druian, Pieter Kruger, Andre van Zyl
79 - Clinton Whitelaw, Akil Yousuf (ENG)
80 - Louis le Roux
81 - Johan van Vuuren
82 - Sean McDonagh (ENG)