Horne starts well in Cologne

2012-06-21 20:11

Cologne, Germany - Australia's Marcus Fraser fired an eight under par 64 to clinch a share of the lead after the first round of the BMW International on Thursday.

Keith Horne fared the best of the South African players, shooting a six under par 66 to trail by two.

Fraser, a two-time European Tour winner, saw his round matched by Paraguay's Fabrizio Zanotti while Ireland's former Ryder Cup vice captain Paul McGinley and English pair Danny Willett and Chris Wood were a shot off the pace.

"It's great. I played really well - drove the ball really straight, only missed one fairway," said the 33-year-old Fraser, who hit five birdies in the last six holes.

"The greens were nice this morning and I managed to make a few putts and especially a few at the end, which was great.

"On 17 I just missed the left edge, so could have been six. But that's always the story; we're never happy. I played really well and gave myself a lot of chances so it was nice to roll a few in."

Colin Montgomerie, back from television commentary work on the US Open in San Francisco, shot 69.

But local favourite Martin Kaymer struggled with jet-lag.

"I only slept for two hours," said Kaymer who carded a 71, the same as Sergio Garcia.

First round scores from the European PGA Tour BMW International Open at the par-72 course in Cologne on Thursday:

64 Marcus Fraser (Australia) 64
Fabrizio Zanotti (Paraguay) 64 65 Danny Willett (Britain) 65
Chris Wood (Britain) 65
Paul McGinley (Ireland) 65 66 Shiv Kapur (India) 66
Keith Horne (South Africa) 66
Gregory Havret (France) 66
Pelle Edberg (Sweden) 66 67 Stephen Gallacher (Britain) 67
Joel Sjoeholm (Sweden) 67
Thomas Norret (Denmark) 67
Soren Kjeldsen (Denmark) 67
Oscar Floren (Sweden) 67
Richard Green (Australia) 67 68 Bradley Dredge (Britain) 68
Marcel Siem (Germany) 68
John Daly (U.S.) 68
Christian Nilsson (Sweden) 68
Alex Cejka (Germany) 68
Mikael Lundberg (Sweden) 68
Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain) 68
Simon Dyson (Britain) 68
Michael Jonzon (Sweden) 68
Joost Luiten (Netherlands) 68
Niclas Fasth (Sweden) 68
Carlos Del Moral (Spain) 68
Julien Guerrier (France) 68 69 Robert-Jan Derksen (Netherlands) 69
Anthony Wall (Britain) 69
Ignacio Garrido (Spain) 69
Pablo Larrazabal (Spain) 69
Steven O'Hara (Britain) 69
Richard Sterne (South Africa) 69
Colin Montgomerie (Britain) 69
Rhys Davies (Britain) 69
David Lynn (Britain) 69
Simon Khan (Britain) 69
Daniel Wuensche (Germany) 69
Danny Denison (Britain) 69
Hennie Otto (South Africa) 69
Oliver Wilson (Britain) 69
David Drysdale (Britain) 69
Thomas Bjorn (Denmark) 69
Emiliano Grillo (Argentina) 69
Michael Hoey (Britain) 69
Mark Foster (Britain) 69
Steve Webster (Britain) 69
Richard McEvoy (Britain) 69
Dylan Frittelli (South Africa) 69
Alastair Forsyth (Britain) 69 70 Pablo Martin (Spain) 70
Ricardo Santos (Portugal) 70
Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand) 70
Michael Campbell (New Zealand) 70
Henrik Stenson (Sweden) 70
Peter Whiteford (Britain) 70
Phillip Price (Britain) 70
Ricardo Gonzalez (Argentina) 70
Robert Coles (Britain) 70
Jean-Baptiste Gonnet (France) 70
Tjaart Van der Walt (South Africa) 70
Ross Fisher (Britain) 70
Jorge Campillo (Spain) 70
Richard Bland (Britain) 70 71 Jbe' Kruger (South Africa) 71
Martin Kaymer (Germany) 71
Sam Little (Britain) 71
Rich Beem (U.S.) 71
Graeme Storm (Britain) 71
David Horsey (Britain) 71
Simon Thornton (Ireland) 71
James Morrison (Britain) 71
Mark Haastrup (Denmark) 71
Andrew Johnston (Britain) 71
Jeong Jin (South Korea) 71
Matthew Nixon (Britain) 71
Shane Lowry (Ireland) 71
Richard Finch (Britain) 71
Sergio Garcia (Spain) 71
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Spain) 71
Andrew Marshall (Britain) 71
Gary Boyd (Britain) 71
Thomas Levet (France) 71
James Kingston (South Africa) 71
Wil Besseling (Netherlands) 71
Raphael Jacquelin (France) 71
Bernd Ritthammer (Germany) 71
Moritz Lampert (Germany) 71 72 David Dixon (Britain) 72
Thomas Aiken (South Africa) 72
Ben Parker (Britain) 72
Huang Wenyi (China) 72
Andy Sullivan (Britain) 72
Paul Lawrie (Britain) 72
Alejandro Canizares (Spain) 72
Darren Fichardt (South Africa) 72
Jeev Milkha Singh (India) 72
Gary Orr (Britain) 72
Felipe Aguilar (Chile) 72
Jordi Garcia Del Moral (Spain) 72
David Howell (Britain) 72
Bernhard Langer (Germany) 72
Reinier Saxton (Netherlands) 72
Johan Edfors (Sweden) 72
Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain) 72
Kenneth Ferrie (Britain) 72
George Murray (Britain) 72 73 Estanislao Goya (Argentina) 73
Alvaro Quiros (Spain) 73
Brett Rumford (Australia) 73
Federico Colombo (Italy) 73
Tim Sluiter (Netherlands) 73
Jamie Moul (Britain) 73
Sam Hutsby (Britain) 73
Marc Warren (Britain) 73
Tommy Fleetwood (Britain) 73
Lorenzo Gagli (Italy) 73
Tom Lewis (Britain) 73
Peter Hedblom (Sweden) 73
Marcel Schneider (Germany) 73
Agustin Domingo (Spain) 73
Matthew Zions (Australia) 73
Gareth Maybin (Britain) 73 74 Benjamin Hebert (France) 74
Jamie Elson (Britain) 74
Dennis Kuepper (Germany) 74
Warren Abery (South Africa) 74
Craig Lee (Britain) 74
Andrew Dodt (Australia) 74
Joakim Lagergren (Sweden) 74
Knut Borsheim (Norway) 74
Benjamin Miarka (Germany) 74 75 Bernd Wiesberger (Austria) 75
Julien Quesne (France) 75
Marcel Haremza (Germany) 75
Max Kraemer (Germany) 75
S.S.P. Chowrasia (India) 75
Lee Slattery (Britain) 75
Retief Goosen (South Africa) 75
Alex Haindl (South Africa) 75 76 Markus Brier (Austria) 76
Edouard Dubois (France) 76
Stephan Gross (Germany) 76
Paul Casey (Britain) 76
Scott Jamieson (Britain) 76
Damien McGrane (Ireland) 76
Lloyd Kennedy (Britain) 76 77 Adrian Otaegui (Spain) 77
Guillaume Cambis (France) 77
Maarten Lafeber (Netherlands) 77
Alessandro Tadini (Italy) 77 78 Oliver Fisher (Britain) 78 81 Bjoern Stromsky (Germany) 81
Anton Kirstein (Germany) 81 DSQ Jose Manuel Lara (Spain)