European Tour

Stone, Fichardt to represent SA at GolfSixes

2017-04-25 18:27
Brandon Stone (Supplied)

Cape Town - Brandon Stone and Darren Fichardt will lead the South African charge at the European Tour's GolfSixes tournament in St Albans, England next week.

The inaugural tournament will see two-man teams from 16 different nations compete over six holes with six different personalities for a prize fund of €1 million (R14m).

SA-born and former England batsman Kevin Pietersen will take part as one of the six celebrities to keep fans at the venue and at home up-to-date with the action.

According to the European Tour website, GolfSixes follows an exciting team-focused match play format over two days, instead of the traditional four-day, 72-hole stroke play.

The teams will play in a Greensomes format, where they will select their best tee shot and then play alternate shots thereafter.

On Saturday, May 6, the teams will be split into four groups of four and the top two teams from each group progress to the knockout stages - the quarter-finals, the semi-finals, a 3rd/4th place playoff match and the final - all of which will be contested on Sunday, May 7.

England's Andy Sullivan and Chris Wood headline the event along with reigning World Cup of Golf champion, Thorbjørn Olesen of Denmark.

The South African team's preparations are already underway, as Rio Olympian, Stone, shared a picture of him and Fichardt on Twitter practicing for the event.

"Nice round with my #GolfSixes partner today. The newest, most innovative event on the @europeantour calendar. We are both beyond excited," wrote Stone.

The GolfSixes teams:

England: Chris Wood, Andy Sullivan
Thailand: Thongchai Jaidee, Kiradech Aphibarnrat
Australia: Sam Brazel, Scott Hend
South Africa: Darren Fichardt, Brandon Stone
Denmark: Thorbjørn Olesen, Lucas Bjerregaard
France: Alexander Levy, Grégory Bourdy
Spain: Pablo Larrazábal, Alejandro Cañizares
Wales: Bradley Dredge, Jamie Donaldson
USA: Paul Peterson, David Lipsky
Netherlands: Joost Luiten, Reinier Saxton
Belgium: Nicolas Colsaerts, Thomas Detry
Sweden: Johan Carlsson, Joakim Lagergren
India: S.S.P Chawrasia, Chikkarangappa S
Portugal: Ricardo Gouveia, José-Filipe Lima
Italy: Matteo Manassero, Renato Paratore
Scotland: Richie Ramsay, Marc Warren


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.