European Tour

SA duo to face hosts at GolfSixes

2018-05-03 13:35
George Coetzee (Getty Images)

Cape Town - South Africa have been drawn with Sweden, England and England women in this weekend's GolfSixes at Centurion Club in St Albans.

Tshwane Open champion George Coetzee and reigning Czech Masters champion Haydn Porteous will lead the South African charge at the European Tour's GolfSixes tournament on Saturday and Sunday.

Defending champions Lucas Bjerregaard and Thorbjørn Olesen will return to represent Denmark in the fast-paced competition as the 16 teams go head to head for a total prize fund of €1 million with the eventual winners receiving €100 000 each.

The 16 teams will compete over six holes in a group stage, with teams split into four groups of four, before the top two teams from each group progress to the knockout stages - the quarter-finals, the semi-finals, a third/fourth place play-off match and the final - on Sunday, May 6.

In the group stages, three points will be given for victory with one point awarded for a draw and the matches will be played in a greensomes match play format.

Once again the six holes will be themed, with the popular shot clock hole returning - with a penalty imposed if players take longer than 30 seconds per shot - alongside the long drive and closest to the pin holes.

Last year at the inaugural tournament, South Africa's Brandon Stone and Darren Fichardt did not advance to the second day and finished last in their group.

South African schedule:

(All SA times)

Saturday - Group matches

South Africa v Sweden - 13:16

South Africa v England Women - 14:47

England v South Africa - 17:41

Sunday - Knockout Format

QF1 Winner A v Runner Up B - 13:40

QF2 Winner C v Runner Up D - 13:55

QF3 Winner B v Runner Up A - 14:10

QF4 Winner D v Runner Up C - 14:25

SF1 Winner QF1 v Winner QF2 - 15:35

SF2 Winner QF3 v Winner QF4 - 15:50

3rd/4th Play-off Runner up SF1 v Runner up SF2 - 17:20

FINAL Winner SF1 v Winner SF2 - 17:35

Full group stage draw:

Group A

Denmark - Lucas Bjerregaard and Thorbjørn Olesen

Thailand - Kiradech Aphibarnrat and Thongchai Jaidee

USA - Daniel Im and David Lipsky

European Women - Suzann Pettersen and Mel Reid

Group B

Australia - Sam Brazel and Wade Ormsby

South Korea - Jeunghun Wang and Soomin Lee

Spain - Pablo Larrazábal and Adrian Otaegui

European Captains - Thomas Bjørn and Catriona Matthew

Group C

France - Alexander Levy and Romain Wattel

Italy - Matteo Manassero and Renato Paratore

Scotland - Scott Jamieson and Richie Ramsay

Ireland - Paul Dunne and Gavin Moynihan

Group D

England - Eddie Pepperell and Matt Wallace

South Africa - George Coetzee and Haydn Porteous

Sweden - Alexander Björk and Joakim Lagergren

England Women - Georgia Hall and Charley Hull


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.