European Tour

Remarkable Chawrasia retains Indian Open crown

2017-03-12 17:00
SSP Chawrasia (Gallo Images)

New Delhi - Local favourite SSP Chawrasia made history after retaining his title at the Hero Indian Open with a remarkable seven-stroke win in New Delhi on Sunday.

Chawrasia, 38, became the first Indian to successfully defend a European Tour title and the first player to win their first four events in their home country.

The five-time Asian Tour winner started the day with a joint lead at the DLF Golf and Country Club and ended at four-under when the third round of the weather-hit tournament was completed Sunday morning.

He did not look back in round four, carding a one-under 71 to finish with a 10-under 278 for the tournament and push Gavin Green of Malaysia into second place with 285.

Chawrasia had finished runner-up four times at the tournament before finally triumphing last season.

"I'm winning back-to-back so I'm really very happy," said Chawrasia.

"This is a very tough course so I was just trying to play straight and in the right places. I played very consistently this week."

Chawrasia had to return to complete seven holes of his third round on Sunday morning after a storm hit play on the first two days.

Green never truly threatened Chawrasia's dominance, making two birdies and five bogeys to finish the fourth round with 75 and seal his first European Tour top-10 finish.

Scotsman Scott Jamieson signed for a 72 to finish eight shots behind the leader alongside Italy's Matteo Manassero (73).

Spaniard Carlos Pigem carded a disappointing 78 to finish alongside countryman Rafa Cabrera Bello and 2015 champion Anirban Lahiri of India.

The event, sanctioned by the Asian Tour and European Tour for the third straight year, carries an enhanced prize purse of $1.75 million.

Scores after the fourth and final round of the Hero Indian Open in New Delhi on Sunday:

278 - SSP Chawrasia (IND) 72 67 68 71

285 - Gavin Green (MAS) 72 73 65 75

286 - Matteo Manassero (ITA) 68 73 72 73, Scott Jamieson (SCO) 70 74 70 72

287 - Rafa Cabrera Bello (SPA) 73 73 70 71, Anirban Lahiri (IND) 76 73 67 71, Carlos Pigem (SPA) 69 73 67 78

288 - David Horsey (ENG) 66 74 76 72, George Coetzee (RSA) 73 74 69 72, Michael Hoey (NIR) 71 71 71 75

Read more on:    european tour  |  golf


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.