European Tour

Reitan, Tabuena share the lead in Perth

2019-02-14 17:03
Kristoffer Reitan
Kristoffer Reitan (Getty Images)

Perth - Kristoffer Reitan and Miguel Tabuena carded opening rounds of 65 to share the lead after day one of the World Super 6 Perth.

The innovative event is in its third consecutive year on the Race to Dubai, with 54 holes of traditional stroke play across the first three days before the top 24 players compete in a six-hole knockout match play format in the fourth and final round.

Out in the first group of the day off the tenth, Tabuena made eight birdies in his opening nine holes to tie a European Tour record and added another gain on the first before two bogeys moved him to seven under par at Lake Karrinyup Country Club.

"I tried to keep it in the back of my head, but it caught up to me on the third and fourth hole. That was like I started to force some stuff, which I shouldn't have, and it cost me. I can't force stuff tomorrow, I can't play too aggressive and I've just got to make my putting work," said Tabuena.

"A win? Oh, my gosh, it would mean everything. To play full time on the European Tour is a goal for me."

Reitan came through all three stages of Qualifying School as an amateur last year and the Norwegian carded eight birdies and a bogey to join Tabuena at the summit in just his fifth event since turning professional.

"I'm really happy with that round. Played some good golf tee to green and holed some putts as well," said Rietan.

"I'm enjoying (my rookie season). I'm just trying to learn every week. Even if I play really bad I'm trying to learn something, and if I play well, it might be because I've learned something."

Both men recorded their lowest rounds on the European Tour so far to sit two shots ahead of New Zealander Benjamin Campbell and England's Richard McEvoy.

Nick Flanagan and Brad Kennedy are the leading Australians at four under par, alongside India’s SSP Chawrasia, Anton Karlsson of Sweden, Northern Ireland's Michael Hoey and Kiwi Ryan Fox.

Round one scores:

65 K Reitan (Nor), M Tabuena (Phi),

67 B Campbell (Nzl), R McEvoy  (Eng),

68 B Kennedy (Aus), S Chawrasia (Ind), A Karlsson  (Swe), N Flanagan  (Aus), R Fox (Nzl), M Hoey  (Nir),

69 D Lawson (Aus), D Gale (Aus), G Bourdy (Fra), M Griffin (Aus), M Jager (Aus),

70 D Boonma (Tha), M Lee (Aus), T Pieters  (Bel), J Scrivener (Aus), P Pittayarat (Tha), R Macintyre  (Sco), Y Chang (Kor), A Otaegui  (Esp), J Nitties (Aus), A Quayle (Aus), M Fraser (Aus), S Jeffress (Aus), S Vincent (Zim), T Pilkadaris (Aus), D Law (Sco), A Martin  (Aus), J Zunic (Aus), J Wang (Kor), G Paddison (Nzl), P Meesawat  (Tha),

71 A Sandhu (Ind), T Murray (Eng), B Henson (USA), C Shinkwin (Eng), J Harding  (RSA), T Aiken (RSA), C Sordet  (Fra), M Wright (Aus), M Brown (Nzl), D Bransdon (Aus), P Langfors (Swe), A Connelly (Can), J Janewattananond (Tha), B Ritthammer (Ger), H Endycott (Aus), R Chisnall (Nzl), J McLeod (Aus), L Johnston (Sco)

72 E Kofstad (Nor), J Marchesani (Aus), B Evans  (Eng), N Cullen (Aus), A Da Silva (Bra), S Kim (USA), M Shin (USA), M Orrin (Eng), N O'Hern (Aus), Z Murray (Aus), D Papadatos (Aus), P Lonard (Aus), S Chan  (Tpe), C O'Reilly (Aus), C John (Aus), D Beck (Aus), G Migliozzi  (Ita), D Nisbet  (Aus), A Truslow (USA), K Johannessen (Nor), R Allenby (Aus), S Hawkes (Aus),

73 M Manassero (Ita), D Kataoka (Jpn), S Soderberg (Swe), S Manley (Wal), S Gregory (Eng), N Fung (Mas), K Koivu (Fin), P Dunne (Irl), A Saddier (Fra), A Bland (Aus), S Leaney (Aus), M Choi (Kor), C Wood (Aus), M Nixon (Eng), A Pike (Aus), M Long (Nzl), R Green (Aus), S Kapur (Ind), C Syme  (Sco), D Fox (Aus), M Antcliff (Aus), K Joshi (Ind), P Fowler (Aus), P Figueiredo  (Por), H Leon (Chi), J Veerman (USA), M Hendry (Nzl), J Campillo (Esp), F Bergamaschi (Ita), M McCardle (Aus), G Green (Mas), N Voke (Nzl), W Ormsby (Aus), D Borda (Esp), T Lewis (Eng), C S (Ind), D Jordan (Aus)

74 D Perry (Aus), G Moynihan (Irl), A Dodt (Aus), J Choi (Kor), O Wilson (Eng), A Chesters  (Eng), K Kitayama (USA), L De Jager  (RSA), N Colsaerts  (Bel), V Madappa (Ind), S Hend (Aus), J Younger (Aus), H Park (Kor), D Gavins (Eng), L Herbert (Aus), Y Ikeda (Jpn), M Millar (Aus), B Eccles (Aus), G Forrest  (Sco), C Crawford (Aus)

75 R Gouveia (Por), J Morrison  (Eng), S Yongcharoenchai (Tha), M Schmitt  (Ger), D Smail (Nzl), P Saksansin (Tha), P O'Malley (Aus), J Norris (Aus), I Cantero Gutierrez  (Esp), J Wilson (Aus),

76 M Kawamura (Jpn), J Girrbach (Sui), D Drysdale (Sco), G Ogilvy (Aus), B Proverbs (Aus), M Stieger (Aus),

77 R Ramsay  (Sco), J Todd (USA), J Felton  (Aus), E Ferguson  (Sco), N Lemke (Swe),

78 P Peterson (USA), M Kokocinski (Swe), R Wannasrichan (Tha)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.