European Tour

Past Open Championship winners

2015-07-13 14:00
Louis Oosthuizen (File)

St. Andrews - Injured Rory McIlroy will not be able to defend his Open Championship title at the Home of Golf this week, can another former winner outlast the field to have his name engraved on the famous trophy?

The last 20 winners of the British Open:

2014 - Rory McIlroy (NIR) at Hoylake

2013 - Phil Mickelson (USA) at Muirfield

2012 - Ernie Els (RSA) at Royal Lytham

2011 - Darren Clarke (NIR) at Royal St George's

2010 - Louis Oosthuizen (RSA) at St Andrews

2009 - Stewart Cink (USA) at Turnberry

2008 - Padraig Harrington (IRL) at Royal Birkdale

2007 - Padraig Harrington (IRL) at Carnoustie

2006 - Tiger Woods (USA) at Hoylake

2005 - Tiger Woods (USA) at St Andrews

2004 - Todd Hamilton (USA) at Royal Troon

2003 - Ben Curtis (USA) at Royal St George's

2002 - Ernie Els (RSA) at Muirfield

2001 - David Duval (USA) at Royal Lytham

2000 - Tiger Woods (USA) at St Andrews

1999 - Paul Lawrie (SCO) at Carnoustie

1998 - Mark O'Meara (USA) at Royal Birkdale

1997 - Justin Leonard (USA) at Troon

1996 - Tom Lehman (USA) at Royal Lytham

1995 - John Daly (USA) at St Andrews


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.