European Tour

Lewis leads Lyoness Open

2013-06-06 22:12
Tom Lewis (Getty Images)
Vienna - England's Tom Lewis hit a flawless opening round of 63 to take the lead of the Lyoness Open on Thursday.

Lewis hit nine birdies and no bogeys on the par-72 course to lead by two shots from Dutchman Joost Luiten, with France's Alexander Levy and English trio Graeme Storm, Simon Dyson and Richard McEvoy a shot further back.

Lewis won the Portugal Masters on only his third professional start in 2011, but has not had a top-10 finish in a strokeplay event since.

"It's a great start," said the former amateur star, who came into the event on the back of six consecutive missed cuts.

"I had some good fortune around the 17th and 18th, which was my front nine, and that made the back nine more relaxed.

"I holed a lot of putts, which was really the only difference between today and the rest of the year.

"This year's been tough but I've been very close and shown a lot of good stuff. Today it all came together and if I can have three more rounds like that I'll be alright."

Already the oldest winner in European Tour history, Spain's Miguel Angel Jimenez set about breaking his own record with a five-under-par 67, while defending champion Bernd Wiesberger had consecutive birdies at the sixth and seventh as he opened with a four-under 68.

Leading first round scores in the European Tour Lyoness Open at Atzenbrugg (GBR and IRL unless stated, par 72):

63 - Tom Lewis
65 - Joost Luiten (NED)
66 - Richard McEvoy, Simon Dyson, Alexander Levy (FRA), Graeme Storm
67 - Andy Sullivan, Paul Waring, Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP), Matthias Schwab (AUT), Wen-Chong Liang (CHN)
68 - Jason Barnes, Steve Webster, Shiv Kapur (IND), Daniel Brooks, Luke Goddard, Callum Macaulay, Romain Wattel (FRA), Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)
69 - Damien McGrane, Magnus A Carlsson (SWE), Mark Tullo (CHI), Matthew Nixon, Andrew Dodt (AUS), Chris Paisley, Moritz Lampert (GER), Joachim B Hansen (DEN), Eduardo De La Riva (ESP), Ignacio Garrido (ESP), Sam Little
70 - Craig Lee, Jacob Glennemo (SWE), Ake Nilsson (RSA), Lasse Jensen (DEN), Daniel Gaunt (AUS), Soren Hansen (DEN), Jorge Campillo (ESP), Peter Hedblom (SWE), James Morrison, Anthony Snobeck (FRA), Jamie Elson, Alastair Forsyth, Dodge Kemmer (USA), Gregory Bourdy (FRA)
71 - Soren Kjeldsen (DEN), Mikael Lundberg (SWE), Lukas Nemecz (AUT), Maximilian Kieffer (GER), Morten Orum Madsen (DEN), Rene Gruber (AUT), Thomas Bjorn (DEN), David Higgins, Bradley Dredge, Hennie Otto (RSA), Bjorn Akesson (SWE), Scott Arnold (AUS), Peter Gustafsson (SWE), Phillip Price, Matthew Baldwin, Terry Pilkadaris (AUS), Oscar Floren (SWE), Lee Slattery, David Drysdale, Jurgen Maurer (AUT), Leonhard Astl (AUT)

Read more on:    european tour  |  golf


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.