European Tour

Larrazabal wins in Abu Dhabi

2014-01-19 13:32
Pablo Larrazabal (AFP)

Abu Dhabi - Spain's Pablo Larrazabal held off major winners Phil Mickelson and Rory McIlroy by one shot to win the $2.7m Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship on Sunday.

Larrazabal's final round 67 left him with a 14 under par total of 288 to secure the biggest win of his career.
Mickelson, with a fourth round 69, and McIlroy, (68), who was docked two shots for an incorrect drop on Saturday, tied for second on 13 under.

While McIlroy's winning chance appeared to have been scuppered by the rules, Mickelson had only himself to blame for his demise.

The left-handed British Open champion led by one shot only to implode with a triple bogey seven on the 13th after trying to hit a right-handed escape shot from under a bush.

He had a 'double hit' when his ball struck the bush and bounced back on his club, but put that behind him with birdies at the 14th and 16th, only narrowly failing to force a playoff.

Collated fourth-round scores in the $2.7m Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship on Sunday at the par-72 Abu Dhabi Golf Club:

274 - Pablo Larrazabal (ESP) 69-70-68-67

275 - Rory McIlroy (NIR) 70-67-70-68, Phil Mickelson (USA) 73-70-63-69

276 - George Coetzee (RSA) 68-70-72-66, Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP) 67-68-73-68

278 - Joost Luiten (NED) 68-70-72-68

279 - Johan Carlsson (SWE) 73-70-71-65

280 - Robert Karlsson (SWE) 73-67-72-68, Stephen Gallacher (SCO) 70-73-68-69

281 - Darren Fichardt (RSA) 70-70-75-66, Tyrell Hatton (ENG) 69-71-70-71, Peter Hanson (SWE) 70-70-69-72, Thomas Bjorn (DEN) 70-67-72-72, Michael Hoey (NIR) 69-71-68-73, Thongchai Jaidee (THA) 70-70-68-73, Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP) 73-68-67-73, Gaganjeet Bhullar (IND) 72-68-66-75, Craig Lee (SCO) 68-67-69-77

282 - Brandon Stone (RSA) 71-71-73-67, Sergio Garcia (ESP) 76-68-70-68, Danny Willett (ENG) 73-63-76-70, Paul McGinley (IRE) 68-72-72-70, Thomas Aiken (RSA) 70-73-69-70, Andy Sullivan (ENG) 73-70-69-70, Otto Hennie (RSA) 70-71-69-72, Tommy Fleetwood (ENG) 73-65-72-72, Matthew Baldwin (ENG) 67-72-69-74,

283 - Wade Ormsby (AUS) 69-73-71-70, Edoardo Molinari (ITA) 70-71-71-71, Jose Filipe-Lima (POR) 68-75-67-73,

284 - Matteo Mannasero (ITA) 71-73-70-70, Emiliano Grillo (ARG) 72-72-70-70, Maximilian Kieffer (GER) 71-71-72-70, Alvaro Quiros (ESP) 71-70-70-73, Ricardo Gonzalez (ARG) 71-66-74-73, Martin Kaymer (GER) 70-71-69-74

285 - Luke Donald (ENG) 70-73-71-71, Oliver Fisher (ENG) 69-72-73-71, Raphael Jacquelin (FRA) 71-72-70-72, Marcel Siem (GER) 69-70-73-73, Marc Warren (SCO) 68-73-70-74, Paul Waring (ENG) 73-71-74-67, David Howell (ENG) 73-71-72-69, Shiv Kapur (IND) 71-72-75-67

286 - Colin Montgomerie (SCO) 73-68-74-71, Tom Lewis (ENG) 71-70-72-73, Romain Wattel (FRA) 67-75-70-74, Eddie Pepperel (ENG) 70-72-69-75

287 - Jorge Campillo (ESP) 72-72-73-70, Alejandro Canizares (ESP) 71-69-76-71, Seve Benson (ENG) 73-70-72-72

288 - Julian Quesne (FRA) 71-72-74-71, Darren Clarke (NIR) 74-69-72-73, Branden Grace (RSA) 73-70-70-75, Ricardo Santos (POR) 70-72-71-75

289 - Eduardo de la Riva (ESP) 70-74-72-73, Jamie Donaldson (WAL) 73-70-73-73, Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN) 74-70-71-74, Alexander Levy (FRA) 74-69-69-77,

290 - Jeev Milkha Singh (IND) 69-75-74-72, Peter Whiteford (SCO) 74-70-73-73, Seve Webster (ENG) 69-73-75-73

291 - Jin Jeong (KOR) 70-71-76-74, Nacho Elvira (ESP) 72-70-74-75

292 - Magnus A Carlsson (SWE) 71-71-77-73, Richard Bland (ENG) 71-73-75-73, Gareth Maybin (NIR) 70-73-76-73, Chris Wood (ENG) 71-73-72-76, Paul Casey (ENG) 72-71-73-76

293 - Damien McGrane (IRE) 70-72-75-76,

294 - Dawie van der Walt (RSA) 68-73-74-79

Withdrew - Jose Maria Olazabal (ESP) 74-70-73-WD


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.